Virginia Concealed Conceal Carry Permit Reciprocity Map

Everything about Virginia, Permits, and Conceal Carrying a Weapon Below.

Virginia CCW Reciprocity State Info

Virginia Reciprocity, VA Honors these permits:

Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

  • Virginia will honor all Non-Resident permits from other states they honor.

Districts & Territories
District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Virginia Concealed Weapons Permits are honored in These States:

Resident Permit
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, Wyoming

Non-Resident Permit
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

  • Wisconsin will only honor the Virginia Non-Resident permit.

No Permit Needed States

The following states have permitless carry which allows anyone that can legally possess a firearm carry conceal:  Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia.  Some restrictions may apply.  Check each state for its own restrictions.

No Permit Carry Needed, With Restrictions

Idaho, North Dakota, and Wyoming Residents are allowed to Concealed Carry without a permit.

Virginia Conceal Carry Permits not Honored in these states:

California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Washington,

Virginia Conceal Carry Permit Information

Virginia CCW fees

Application ConditionOriginalRenewal
Resident$50$50
Non-Resident$100$50

NOTE
The court shall charge a fee of $10.00 for the processing of an application or issuing of a permit. Local law enforcement agencies may charge a fee not to exceed $35.00 to cover the cost of conducting an investigation pursuant to this Code section. The State Police may charge a fee not to exceed $5.00 to cover the cost associated with processing the application. The total amount of the charges may not exceed $50.00, and payment may be made by any method accepted by the court. Out of state permits have a fee of $100.

Residents & Non Residents

Concealed carry permits are issued to residents and non-residents. Any training requirements can be done online or in person with the minimum age of applicants being 21 years old. Application forms can be obtained on this website or picked up from Circuit Courts, Sheriffs office or the Police Department. There is no requirement that you have resided in the county or state for any length of time.

You can apply by mail for a non-resident permit. To request an application package write to the below address and include your full name, address and phone number;

Firearms Transaction Center,
Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits,
Criminal Justice Information Services Division,
Department of State Police,
P.O. Box 85141
Richmond, VA 23285-5141.

Applicants must be at least 21 years old. An instruction liston what you will need for a non-resident permit can be obtained here.

shop now

Valid for How Long

Virginia concealed carry permit is valid for 5 years

Shall Issue State

Virginia is a shall issue state

Is Virginia an Open Carry State?

YES – WITHOUT A PERMIT

YES – Without a Permit/License
Open carrying a handgun without a permit/license is legal in Virginia and common. The minimum age for open carry is 18.

How long does it take to get a concealed weapons permit in Virginia

45 Days
The application for a concealed carry permit/license must be processed within 45 days of the application being received.

Virginia Concealed Permit Requirements

YES – WITHOUT A PERMIT

YES – Without a Permit/License
Vehicle carry is allowed in a personal, private motor vehicle or vessel and such handgun is secured in a container or compartment in the vehicle or vessel. The term “compartment” includes a console, glove compartment, or any other area within or on the vehicle or vessel that possesses the ability to be closed and the term “secured” means that a container or compartment be closed but not necessarily locked.

Can I carry a gun in my car in Virginia

YES – WITHOUT A PERMIT

YES – Without a Permit/License
Vehicle carry is allowed in a personal, private motor vehicle or vessel and such handgun is secured in a container or compartment in the vehicle or vessel. The term “compartment” includes a console, glove compartment, or any other area within or on the vehicle or vessel that possesses the ability to be closed and the term “secured” means that a container or compartment be closed but not necessarily locked.

Where to Apply for a Virginia Conceal Carry Permit and steps to take

Concealed carry permits/licenses are issued by the circuit court of the county or city where the applicant resides.

Follow these steps to obtain a concealed carry permit;

  1. Complete your firearm training course.
  2. Download the application form or pickup from the Circuit Court or Sheriffs office.
  3. You will need the following documents;
    • A photocopy of a certificate of completion of a firearms course.
  4. File application in person or by mail with the clerk of the circuit court of the county or city in which the applicant resides in.
  5. You will be notified within 45 days by mail if your application has been approved or denied.

Virginia Conceal Carry Laws

  • Notify officer of Carry

    NO – MUST INFORM OFFICER

    There is nothing in Virginia gun statutes that state you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. The law does require you to carry your permit, together with photo ID, at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun.

  • Can you Conceal Carry in bar? Conceal Carry In Liquor establishments?

    YES you can carry in a bar but cannot drink alcohol

  • Not allowed to carry in these areas

    • Private property when prohibited by the owner of the property, or where posted as prohibited
    • Place of religious worship while a meeting for religious purposes is being held
    • Courthouse
    • School property or school functions (School buses are school property)
    • Non-secure areas of airport terminals
    • Regional Jail or Juvenile Detention Facility
    • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.

  • Constitutional carry

    No

  • Carry in Restaurant

    Yes

  • Carry in State Parks

    • State parks
    • State and national forests
    • Road side rest areas
    • Vehicle
    • All areas of the state not listed as Off-Limits

  • Premises that have Signs that state no firearms allowed:

    NO

    “No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Virginia gun statutes. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits. It is a good idea to comply with the sign since a trespassing charge may be applied.

Virginia Conceal Carry Application Forms

  • Private property when prohibited by the owner of the property, or where posted as prohibited
  • Place of religious worship while a meeting for religious purposes is being held
  • Courthouse
  • School property or school functions (School buses are school property)
  • Non-secure areas of airport terminals
  • Regional Jail or Juvenile Detention Facility
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.

Virginia Beach Circuit Court

Hours


Monday – Friday8:30am – 4pm

SaturdayClosed

SundayClosed


Contact


Address2425 Nimmo Parkway

CityVirginia Beach, VA 23456-9017

Phone(757) 385-4181

Email[email protected]

j frame pistol

Best Holster for J Frame – Reviews in 2020

By Mark Wallace | June 10, 2020

  You probably searched for something like What is the Best Holster for J Frame Review in 2020   If that is how you ended up here then you are in the right place. But all things considered, there is no one holster fits all. Below we have listed some really good choices in different…

woman shooting

THESE ARE THE BEST-CONCEALED CARRY HANDGUNS FOR WOMEN, RECOMMENDED BY WOMEN

By Mark Wallace | June 5, 2020

Source There are several important characteristics to look for when choosing a self-defense handgun.  The firearm must be chambered in a cartridge powerful enough to reliably stop an assailant.  The firearm must fit comfortably in the hands of an average woman.  While smaller firearms are easier to carry and conceal, they are generally not as…

competition shooting

IDPA Holsters (International Defensive Pistol Association)

By Mark Wallace | May 28, 2020

What does IDPA stand for Want to check out a competitive action shooting competition? Then the IDPA may be right for you. IDPA stands for International Defensive Pistol Association. The IDPA was founded in 1996 in Bogata, Texas. This form of competitive shooting revolves around “real life” defensive scenarios. The competitor uses only handguns. No…

Leather Holster

DIY How to Make a Molded Leather Holster

By Mark Wallace | May 27, 2020

There’s nothing quite like a leather holster. They feel great, hold your pistol securely, and have a classic look that is to die for. However, leather holsters—like all leather products—can be very expensive. If you have a usual pistol, you may also struggle to find a leather holster that fits your gun well.  There’s a…