"Holster HQ is an Amazon Associate, we may earn commissions from links on this page that you clink on and make qualifying purchases, thanks for helping support us"

Oklahoma Concealed Pistol License Reciprocity Map

Everything about Oklahoma, Permits, and Conceal Carrying a Weapon Below.

Oklahoma CCW Reciprocity State Info

Oklahoma Reciprocity, Oklahoma Honors these permits:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories
District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Oklahoma Concealed Weapons Permits are honored in These States:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming

No Permit Needed States

The following states have permitless carry which allows anyone that can legally possess a firearm carry conceal:  Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia.  Some restrictions may apply.  Check each state for its own restrictions.

No Permit Carry Needed, With Restrictions

Idaho, North Dakota, and Wyoming Residents are allowed to Concealed Carry without a permit.

Oklahoma Conceal Carry Permits not Honored in these states:

Oregon, California, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, New York, New Jersey, Washington DC, Rhode Island, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maryland, Hawaii

Oklahoma Conceal Carry Permit Information

Oklahoma CCW Application Fee

Fees to be paid to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation.

Initial Application
5 year License: $100
10 year License: $200

Renewal Application
5 year License: $85
10 year License: $170

Expired Renewal Application
(License expired less than 3 years)
5 year License: $85
10 year License: $170

Expired Renewal Application
(License expired more than 3 years)
5 year License: $100
10 year License: $200

Instructors Application (initials and renewals)
5 year License: $100

Accepted forms of payment
Electronic transfer, Money orders, Cashiers check, Credit card

The sheriff will require an additional fee of $25 for fingerprinting.

Residents & Non Residents

Permit Information


Oklahoma gun laws allow concealed carry permits to be issued to residents and military personnel. Permits are not available for non-residents. Applications are processed at the county level and filed with the local sheriff’s office. A person must be 21 or older, have completed a firearms course and meet other criteria to apply. There are restrictions on the caliber of the firearm a permit holder can carry with .48 being the highest.

shop now

Valid for How Long

Oklahoma has 5 year and 10 year conceal carry permits.

Shall Issue State

Oklahoma is a “shall issue” state, meaning that law enforcement authorities must issue a handgun license to any applicant who meets certain legal requirements.Oklahoma law generally prohibits carrying a concealed or unconcealed handgun without a valid “handgun license,” except where otherwise provided by law.Sep 16, 2018

Is Oklahoma an Open Carry State?

Can I open carry in Oklahoma? 

NO – Without a Permit/License
You can only open carry if you have a permit/license or you are from one of the following permitless states – AK, AZ, VT and WY. The minimum age to open carry is 21 years.

How long does it take to get a concealed weapons permit in Oklahoma

90 Days
The application for a concealed carry permit/license must be processed within 90 days of the application being received.

Oklahoma Concealed Permit Requirements

  • Must be at least 21 years of age
  • A citizen of the United States
  • You are a resident of Oklahoma State
  • You must have a valid Oklahoma driver license or state photo identification card.
  • You have read and become knowledgeable of the Oklahoma Self Defense Act
  • You have completed an approved firearms training class or obtained an exemption
  • You must not have any convictions for the following offenses;
    • assault and battery, which caused serious physical injury to the victim, or any second or subsequent assault and battery conviction;
    • aggravated assault and battery;
    • stalking;
    • a violation relating to the Protection from Domestic Abuse Act, or any violation of a victim protection order of another state;
    • any conviction relating to illegal drug use or possession; or
    • an act of domestic abuse or domestic assault and battery.
  • Must not have two or more convictions for public intoxication in last 3 years.
  • Must not have 2 or more convictions for Driving Under the Influence and/or Intoxication in last 3 years.
  • You have no significant character defects evidenced by a misdemeanor criminal record indicating habitual criminal activity.
  • Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons 

Can I carry a gun in my car in Oklahoma

YES/NO – Without a Permit/License
The law states it is illegal to carry a loaded firearm in any vehicle without a permit/license. You can carry in a vehicle if the firearm is unloaded and in plain view.

Where to Apply for Oklahoma Conceal Permit/License

Follow these steps to obtain a concealed carry permit

  1. Read the Oklahoma Self Defense Act.
  2. Complete the firearm’s safety class or obtain an exemption.
  3. Download the application form or pickup at your local sheriffs office. Applications can also be made online.
  4. You will need the following documents;
    • Firearms training certificate
    • 2 color passport style photos
    • Completed application
    • Drivers license or state ID card
  5. Take the application, photos, your drivers license or state ID card and training certificate to the Sheriffs office in the county you reside in.
  6. The Sheriff will take your fingerprints.
  7. You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.


Oklahoma Conceal Carry Laws

  • Notify officer of Carry

    Oklahoma gun laws say you must immediately inform law enforcement you are carrying a weapon if stopped by them. You are also required to carry your permit at all times you are carrying a weapon.

  • In Oklahoma, Can you Conceal Carry in bar? Conceal Carry In Liquor establishments?

    No    The following are some of the rules which govern when you may not carry a gun in Oklahoma. ... However, if you have a concealed carry permit, you may carry a firearm into a restaurant or other establishment that serves liquor as long as alcohol sales do not constitute the primary purpose of the business.

  • Not allowed to carry in these areas

    Where You Cannot Carry

    • Any prison, jail or detention facility
    • Any public or private elementary or public or private secondary school
    • Any sports arena during a professional sporting event
    • Any place where pari-mutuel wagering is authorized by law
    • Any other place specifically prohibited by law
    • Any structure, building, or office space which is owned or leased by a city, town, county, state or federal governmental authority for the purpose of conducting business with the public
    • Under the influence of alcohol or drugs
    • State wild life management area’s
    • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 

  • Constitutional carry


  • Carry in Restaurant

    YES – In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol
    “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.

  • Carry in State Parks

    Where You Can Carry

    • State park’s – but not in buildings
    • State and national forests – but not in buildings
    • Road side rest areas – but not in buildings
    • Vehicle
    • Any property set aside for the use or parking of any vehicle

  • Premises that have Rules that state no firearms allowed:

    “No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Oklahoma gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits.

    However it is recommended that those signs be obeyed or you could be breaking no trespassing laws and end up being arrested for that.

Oklahoma Conceal Carry Application Forms

Handgun License application form
Online permit application

j frame pistol

Best Holster for J Frame – Reviews in 2020

By Mark Wallace | June 10, 2020

  You probably searched for something like What is the Best Holster for J Frame Review in 2020   If that is how you ended up here then you are in the right place. But all things considered, there is no one holster fits all. Below we have listed some really good choices in different…

woman shooting


By Mark Wallace | June 5, 2020

Source There are several important characteristics to look for when choosing a self-defense handgun.  The firearm must be chambered in a cartridge powerful enough to reliably stop an assailant.  The firearm must fit comfortably in the hands of an average woman.  While smaller firearms are easier to carry and conceal, they are generally not as…

competition shooting

IDPA Holsters (International Defensive Pistol Association)

By Mark Wallace | May 28, 2020

What does IDPA stand for Want to check out a competitive action shooting competition? Then the IDPA may be right for you. IDPA stands for International Defensive Pistol Association. The IDPA was founded in 1996 in Bogata, Texas. This form of competitive shooting revolves around “real life” defensive scenarios. The competitor uses only handguns. No…

Leather Holster

DIY How to Make a Molded Leather Holster

By Mark Wallace | May 27, 2020

There’s nothing quite like a leather holster. They feel great, hold your pistol securely, and have a classic look that is to die for. However, leather holsters—like all leather products—can be very expensive. If you have a usual pistol, you may also struggle to find a leather holster that fits your gun well.  There’s a…