"Holster HQ is an Amazon Associate, we may earn commissions from links on this page that you clink on and make qualifying purchases, thanks for helping support us"

New York CCW

New York Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map

Everything about New York, Permits, and Conceal Carrying a Weapon Below.

New York CCW Reciprocity State Info

New York Reciprocity, New York Honors these permits:

New York will honor only one pistol license 1 DISTRICT States
None Districts & Territories
New York City

New York Concealed Weapons Permits are honored in These States:

States that will honor a New York pistol licence 23 STATES

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin

No Permit Needed States

The following states have permitless carry which allows anyone that can legally possess a firearm carry conceal:  Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia.  Some restrictions may apply.  Check each state for its own restrictions.

No Permit Carry Needed, With Restrictions

Idaho, North Dakota, and Wyoming Residents are allowed to Concealed Carry without a permit.

New York Conceal Carry Permits not Honored in these states:

States that will not honor a New York pistol license 28 STATES

California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York City, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming.

New York state Conceal Carry Permit Information

New York CCW Application Fee

Schedule of fee’s for a New York pistol license

Fees vary for each county but are similar to the fees listed here.

Application Type Original Renewal
Individual $20 $10 varies by county
Duplicate $18
Name, Address change $3
County transfer $8
Acccepted forms of payment
Certified check, cashiers check or money order. Note 
An additional fee of $10 may be charged for processing your fingerprints.

Residents & Non Residents

Applications for a Pistol license are made in the persons County or City of residence to the sheriff or police department or in some cases a separate licensing authority. Most licensing authorities are usually a county judge or sometimes a supreme court judge.

Applicants will be required to supply with their application four personal references from persons that are not related to them.

There are several types of pistol license available but generally the most common types issued are the concealed carry and possess on premises licenses. Both licenses can be endorsed with restrictions such as only to be carried during hunting or travelling to or from target practice.

Generally non-residents are not issued pistol permits. However, in 2013 the New York Appeals Court ruled in Osterweil v. Bartlett, 999 N.E.2d 516, that part time residents in New York are eligible for pistol permits under the state laws.New York Non-Resident License is valid in:
AK, AL, AR, AZ, IA, ID, IN, KS, KY, MO, MS, MT, NC, NY, OH, OK, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, VT, WI NY Penal Code 400 4. – Applications.
(a) Applications shall be made and renewed, in the case of a license to carry or possess a pistol or revolver, to the licensing officer in the city or county, as the case may be, where the applicant resides, is principally employed or has his principal place of business as merchant or storekeeper; and, in the case of a license as gunsmith or dealer in firearms, to the licensing officer where such place of business is located.

The requirement to complete a handgun safety course for a new pistol license applications varies with various counties. Some require no training while other counties may ask you to complete a 4 or 8 hour course.

Types of pistol licenses available

As listed in Section 400.00 2. – New York Penal Code

  • (a) Premise Dwelling – Have and possess in his dwelling by a householder.
  • (b) Premise Business – Have and possess in his place of business by a merchant or storekeeper.
  • (c) Bank or Express Messenger – Have and carry concealed while so employed by a messenger employed by a banking institution or express company.
  • (d) Justice of The Supreme Court 1st or 2nd Judicial Dept. or Judge of NYC Civil or Criminal Court – Have and carry concealed by a justice of the supreme court in the first or second judicial departments, or by a judge of the New York City civil court or the New York City criminal court.
  • (e) Employee Of Corrections – Have and carry concealed while so employed by a regular employee of an institution of the state, or of any county, city, town or village, under control of a commissioner of correction of the city or any warden, superintendent or head keeper of any state prison, penitentiary, workhouse, county jail or other institution for the detention of persons convicted or accused of crime or held as witnesses in criminal cases, provided that application is made therefore by such commissioner, warden, superintendent or head keeper.
  • (f) Proper Cause – Have and carry concealed, without regard to employment or place of possession, by any person when proper cause exists for the issuance thereof.
  • (g) Antique Pistols – Have, possess, collect and carry antique pistols which are defined in section 400.00 subd. 2(i)(ii)(1)(2).

Licensing officers

Contacting the licensing officer in the county you intend to apply for a license in and asking what the procedure is should be the first thing you do as the procedure will be different in every county.

There are 55 licensing jurisdictions out  of a total of 59 that issue a pistol license through the court system, a judge serves as the licensing officer. It is left to the local Police to conduct any background checks.

In the other jurisdictions, Nassua, Suffolk Counties and New York City,  the role of licensing officer is assigned to the Police Commissioner or Sheriff.

shop now

Valid for How Long


Licenses valid for – 5 years
Nassua, Suffolk and Westchester counties Licenses valid for – 2 years
New York City Licenses valid for – Lifetime
Most other counties

Shall Issue State

  • Issue policy – May Issue means it is up to the issuer whether they issue a permit.

Is New York State an Open Carry State?

Open carry

(With no pistol license)

There are no laws in New York statutes that mention open carry. Technically you could say it is legal by default. You may get away with it in some rural counties but if you try to open carry in town you will get a whole lot of problems. You could also raise the argument that a license is issued to conceal carry, hence the weapon must be concealed.

To carry any firearm in New York you need a New York license.


How long does it take to get a concealed weapons permit in New York state?

180 Days
The application for a concealed carry license must be processed within 180 days of the application being received.

New York state Concealed Permit Requirements

Requirements to qualify for a New York pistol license

  • Must be 21 years of age or older, provided, however, that where such applicant has been honorably discharged from the United States army, navy, marine corps, air force or coast guard, or the national guard of the state of New York, no such age restriction shall apply.
  • Some counties may require you to complete a firearms safety course.
  • Reside or maintain a principal place of business within the county application is filed in.
  • Be of good moral character.
  • Is not subject to a protective court order.
  • Show proper cause exists for the issuance of a carry license, including, for example, target shooting, hunting, or self-defense.
  • Have no prior conviction for a felony or other serious offense under NYS Penal Law.
  • No good cause exists for the denial of the license.
  • Not be residing in the United States illegally or unlawfully.
  • Not have been admitted to the United States under a non-immigrant visa.
  • Have not been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.
  • Have not had a guardian appointed for him or her pursuant to any provision of state law, based on a determination that as a result of marked subnormal intelligence, mental illness, incapacity, condition or disease, he or she lacks the mental capacity to contract or manage his or her own affairs.
  • Be free from any mental disorders, defects or diseases that would impair his or her ability to safely possess or use a firearm.
  • Have not been involuntarily committed to a facility under the jurisdiction of the department of mental hygiene.
  • Have not had a license revoked or who is not under a suspension or ineligibility order.
  • Federal Law Requirements

Can I carry a gun in my car in New York state? Can I Have a gun in my baggage in a New York airport?


It is illegal to possess a loaded firearm in any motor vehicle without a valid New York License to Carry. However, federal law does permit a person to transport a firearm through New York state. We suggest you read the Transporting Firearms section on this page for more details and would not recommend you to rely on the Federal law in this state.

If you have a New York pistol license then you can carry a loaded concealed handgun in a vehicle.

Guide to transporting firearms through New York Airports

Transporting firearms through New York can be a risky business. People have been arrested at airports in New York just for declaring they had a firearm.

We advice you to take extreme caution when transporting any handgun through New York state.


If you do not have a valid New York Pistol License and try to transport a firearm through a New York airport the chances are good that you will be arrested, even if the firearm is encased correctly and declared.

You cannot rely on the Federal Firearm Owners Protection Act to protect you at airports, it is only valid when traveling in a vehicle. This was confirmed in 2013 when the US court of Appeals, Third Circuit, ruled in case No. 12-3621 that the federal Firearm Owners Protection Act, section 926A of Title 18 does not protect persons travelling through an airport. So if you do not have a New York pistol license then our advice is not to attempt taking any weapon through a New York airport.

Where to Apply for New York state Conceal Permit License

How to apply for a New York pistol license

Follow these steps to obtain a pistol license;

There are so many laws and regulations in New York regarding guns and licenses that obtaining a permit can be a long process. There are 59 licensing jurisdictions and each one has a slightly different procedure. We have used Erie County as an example but the process will vary with each county.

  1. You may need to do a handgun safety course in some counties.
  2. Download the State application in the forms section on this page. You will need the State form and a County form, we only have the State form available.
  3. You will need four character references and two 2″ x 2″ photos.
  4. You must submit the applications in person.
  5. The Fingerprinting process is explained and done after you submit your application.
  6. You will undergo various background checks by New York State, FBI and an interview by local police.
  7. Your Application is then submitted to one of the Licensing Judges for consideration.
  8. You will be notified by mail of your approval or denial.
  9. If approved, you can purchase and/or co-register a handgun.
More counties are now issuing CCW licenses to non-residents. In fact in 2013 the  US Court of Appeals ruled that a non-resident was entitled to a license, though the person in question lived part time in New York.

400.00.3 New York Penal Code – Non-resident permits

New York state Conceal Carry Laws

  • Notify officer of Carry


    There is no legal requirement to inform law enforcement you are carrying a handgun. However, the law does state you must carry your pistol license at all times when you have a handgun on your person and you must display the license to an officer if he requests to see your license.N.Y. Pen. Law § 400.00

  • In New York state, Can you Conceal Carry in bar? Conceal Carry In Liquor establishments?

    “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.Concealed carry in a bar is not permitted
  • Not allowed to carry in these areas

    All Permits shall be effective throughout the state, except that the same shall not be valid within the city of New York unless a special permit granting validity is issued by the police commissioner of that city.

  • Constitutional carry


  • Carry in Restaurant

    “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
  • Carry in State Parks

    It is illegal to carry in the following areas;
    • State Parks: NO – Section 190 Dept. Lands
    • State/National Forests: NO – Section 190 Dept. lands
    • State Wildlife Management Areas: NO – Section 190 Dept. lands
    • Road Side Rest Areas:  NO – 17 CRR-NY IV C 156.12
  • Premises that have Rules that state no firearms allowed:


    • Courthouses
    • Government buildings – in certain cities and counties
    • New York airports
    • Building or grounds, used for educational purposes, of any school, college, or university
    • Within the city of New York unless a special permit granting validity is issued by the police commissioner of that city
    • At any facility operated or licensed by the Office of Mental Health
    • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law

New York Conceal Carry Application Forms



Sale: See Our Products Here