New Jersey Concealed Carry Permit Reciprocity Map
Everything about New Jersey, Permits, and Conceal Carrying a Weapon Below.
New Jersey CCW Reciprocity State Info
New Jersey Reciprocity, NJ Honors these permits:
New Jersey does not honor permits from any other states.
New Jersey Concealed Weapons Permits are honored in These States:RESIDENT
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia NON-RESIDENT
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia
No Permit Needed States
The following states have permitless carry which allows anyone that can legally possess a firearm carry conceal: Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia. Some restrictions may apply. Check each state for its own restrictions.
No Permit Carry Needed, With Restrictions
Idaho, North Dakota, and Wyoming Residents are allowed to Concealed Carry without a permit.
New Jersey Conceal Carry Permits not Honored in these states:
NOT Honored by These States: California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, North Dakota, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nevada, New Hampshire, Louisiana, New Mexico, New York, New York City, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, West Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming.
New Jersey Conceal Carry Permit Information
New Jersey Application FeeNew Permits: $50
Residents & Non Residents
Permits are issued to both residents and non–residents.
Valid for How Long
The permit is valid for 2 years.
Shall Issue State
New Jersey is a “May Issue” state.
Is New Jersey an Open Carry State?NO – Without a Permit/License
Open carrying a handgun without or with a permit/license in New Jersey is illegal. Your permit/license gives you the right to carry a concealed firearm, and you must carry it concealed.
How long does it take to get a concealed weapons permit in New Jersey60 Days
The application for a concealed carry permit/license must be processed within 60 days of the application being received.
New Jersey Concealed Permit Requirements
- Must be at least 21 years old.
- Is a person of good character.
- Has demonstrated he or she is familiar with the safe handling and use of handguns.
- Has demonstrated a justifiable need to carry a handgun.
- Have references from three persons who have known applicant for a minimum of three years.
- Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons
Can I carry a gun in my car in New JerseyNO – Without a Permit/License
Carrying a loaded handgun inside any vehicle without a permit/license in New Jersey is illegal. Unless the handgun is unloaded and contained in a closed and securely fastened case, or locked in the trunk.
Where to Apply for a New Jersey Conceal Carry Permit and steps to takeIf you reside in New Jersey, you must apply with the municipal police department where you reside. If the municipality where you reside is serviced by the New Jersey State Police, you must apply at the station which covers your municipality. Out of state residents must apply to the New Jersey State Police station nearest to their geographic location. Armored car employees must apply with the New Jersey State Police, regardless of where they reside.
New Jersey does not have laws which allow individuals with valid permits to carry a handguns from other states to carry a handgun in New Jersey.
- Complete your firearm training course.
- Download the application from under the FORMS tab.
- Obtain three references, must have known the applicant for a minimum of three years
- Complete the application form in triplicate.
- All original copies must be notarized.
- You will need the following documents;
- Completed application form
- Four color passport size photographs
- Completed Consent For Mental Health Search, form
- Submit in writing a justifiable reason for the issuance of a permit to carry a handgun
- Firearms training certificate
- A money order for $50.00 payable to, “Treasurer – State of New Jersey
- Present these to your local state police station.
- Your fingerprints will be taken.
- You will be notified within 60 days by mail if your application has been approved or denied.
New Jersey Conceal Carry Laws
Notify officer of Carry
NO – Must Inform Officer on Contact By Law
There is nothing in New Jersey gun laws that state you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. The law is also silent about carrying a permit
In New Jersey, Can you Conceal Carry in bar? Conceal Carry In Liquor establishments?YES – In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol
Not allowed to carry in these areas
- State Parks
- School, college, university or other educational institution
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Carry in RestaurantYes
Carry in State Parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- All areas of the state – except those listed below
Premises that have Rules that state no firearms allowed:No information on no gun signs to be found.
New Jersey Conceal Carry Application Forms
New Jersey Contacts
New Jersey State Police
Monday – Friday8am – 4pm
AddressP.O. Box 7068
CityWest Trenton, NJ 08628