"Holster HQ is an Amazon Associate, we may earn commissions from links on this page that you clink on and make qualifying purchases, thanks for helping support us"

Nebraska Concealed Carry License Reciprocity Map

Everything about Nebraska, Permits, and Conceal Carrying a Weapon Below.

Nebraska CCW Reciprocity State Info

Nebraska Reciprocity, Nebraska Honors these permits:

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota,Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories
District of Columbia

Iowa – Nebraska will only honor the Non-professional permit
North Dakota – Nebraska will only honor the Class 1 permit.
South Dakota – Nebraska will only honor the Enhanced permit.

Nebraska Concealed Weapons Permits are honored in These States:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

No Permit Needed States

The following states have permitless carry which allows anyone that can legally possess a firearm carry conceal:  Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia.  Some restrictions may apply.  Check each state for its own restrictions.

No Permit Carry Needed, With Restrictions

Idaho, North Dakota, and Wyoming Residents are allowed to Concealed Carry without a permit.

Nebraska Conceal Carry Permits not Honored in these states:

NOT Honored by These States:

California,  Connecticut, Delaware, Washington DC, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Washington

Nebraska Conceal Carry Permit Information

Nebraska CCW Application Fee

New Permits: $100
Renewal: $50

Accepted forms of payment
Cash, Check

Residents & Non Residents

Permits are restricted to residents only and issued at the state level by the State Patrol Department. Exemptions are given to military personnel posted in Nebraska, they are treated as residents. Applicants must be 21 or older and complete a firearms training course. The application form must be notarized.

shop now

Valid for How Long

Nebraska concealed carry permit is valid for 5 years

Shall Issue State

Nebraska gun laws define the state as “Shall Issue”. 

Is Nebraska an Open Carry State?

Can I open carry in Nebraska?

YES – Without a Permit/License
Open carry is legal in Nebraska. However, local governments can set their own regulations so you would need to check the local laws in the area. Minimum age for open carry is 18.

How long does it take to get a concealed weapons permit in Nebraska?

The application for a concealed carry permit/license must be processed within 5 days of the application being received. that does not mean you will be approved in 5 days. It may take  as long as 45 days to be approved.

Nebraska Concealed Permit Requirements

  • Must be at least 21 years old.
  • Resident of Nebraska for last 180 days.
  • Pass an approved firearms training course.
  • Complete a vision test.
  • You are a citizen of the United States.
  • Have never had a conviction for violation of any law relating to firearms, unlawful use of a weapon, or controlled substances in Nebraska or any other jurisdiction in the past ten (10) years.
  • Federal Law – Applies

Can I carry a gun in my car in Nebraska?

YES – Without a Permit/License
You can carry a loaded handgun in a vehicle without a permit if it is visible. A permit is required to carry a concealed firearm in or outside a vehicle.

Where to Apply for Nebraska Conceal Permit License and steps to take

Concealed carry permits/licenses are issued by Nebraska State Patrol in Lincoln or Troop area Headquarters outside of Lincoln.

Follow these steps to obtain a permit

  1. If you don’t have a drivers license get a vision test done. A drivers license proves your vision was tested and passed.
  2. Complete a firearms training course.
  3. Download the application under the FORMS tab or pickup from Troop Headquarters.
  4. Fill out the form and have it notarized
  5. Gather the following documents;
    • Notarized application form
    • Proof of training
    • Proof of vision – drivers license
    • Proof of citizenship – birth certificate or passport
    • Proof of address – drivers license or Nebraska ID card
  6. Take the application and all above documents to your nearest Troop Headquarters
  7. You will be fingerprinted and your signature and photo taken
  8. You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.

Nebraska Conceal Carry Laws

  • Notify officer of Carry

    YES – Must Inform Officer on Contact By Law
    Nebraska gun laws say “Whenever a permit holder who is carrying a concealed handgun is contacted by a peace officer or by emergency services personnel, the permit holder shall  immediately inform the peace officer or emergency services personnel that the permit holder is carrying a concealed handgun.” You are also required by law to carry your permit and drivers license any time you carry a firearm.

  • In Nebraska Can you Conceal Carry in bar? Conceal Carry In Liquor establishments?

    Law states yes but only if alcohol sales are less than 1/2 of all sales.  

  • Not allowed to carry in these areas

    • Police, Sheriff, or Nebraska State Patrol station or office
    • Detention facility, prison, or jail
    • Courtroom or building which contains a courtroom
    • Polling place during a bona fide election
    • Meeting of the governing body of a county, public school district, municipality, or other political subdivision
    • Meeting of the Legislature or a Committee of the Legislature
    • Financial Institution
    • Professional or semiprofessional athletic event
    • Building, grounds, vehicle, or sponsored activity or athletic event of any public, private, denominational, or parochial elementary, vocational, or secondary school, a private post secondary career school, a community college, or a public or private college, junior college, or university
    • Place of worship
    • Hospital, emergency room, or trauma center
    • Political rally or fundraiser
    • Establishment having a license issued under the Nebraska Liquor Control Act that derives over one half of its total income from the sale of alcoholic liquor
    • Place where the possession or carrying of a firearm is prohibited by state or federal law
    • A place or premises where the person, persons, entity, or entities in control of the property or employer in control of the property has prohibited permit holders from carrying concealed handguns into or onto the place or premises
    • Into or onto any other place or premises where handguns are prohibited by state law
    • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 

  • Constitutional carry


  • Carry in Restaurant

    Yes, but not allowed to consume alcohol while concealed carrying.

  • Carry in State Parks

    Where you can carry

    • State parks
    • State and national forests
    • Road side rest areas
    • Vehicle
    • All areas of the state – except those areas listed as prohibited. see not allowed to carry in these areas
  • Premises that have Rules that state no firearms allowed:

    Nebraska gun laws give “No Weapons” signs the force of law . There are legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs.

Nebraska Conceal Carry Application Forms

Nebraska CCW Application

Nebraska Contacts

Nebraska State Patrol


Monday – Friday8am – 4pm




Address1600 Highway 2

CityLincoln, NE 68502


woman shooting


By Mark Wallace | June 5, 2020

Source There are several important characteristics to look for when choosing a self-defense handgun.  The firearm must be chambered in a cartridge powerful enough to reliably stop an assailant.  The firearm must fit comfortably in the hands of an average woman.  While smaller firearms are easier to carry and conceal, they are generally not as…

competition shooting

IDPA Holsters (International Defensive Pistol Association)

By Mark Wallace | May 28, 2020

What does IDPA stand for Want to check out a competitive action shooting competition? Then the IDPA may be right for you. IDPA stands for International Defensive Pistol Association. The IDPA was founded in 1996 in Bogata, Texas. This form of competitive shooting revolves around “real life” defensive scenarios. The competitor uses only handguns. No…

Leather Holster

DIY How to Make a Molded Leather Holster

By Mark Wallace | May 27, 2020

There’s nothing quite like a leather holster. They feel great, hold your pistol securely, and have a classic look that is to die for. However, leather holsters—like all leather products—can be very expensive. If you have a usual pistol, you may also struggle to find a leather holster that fits your gun well.  There’s a…

female shooter ccw

Female Concealed Carry Options and Guide

By Holster HQ | May 23, 2020

Yes, it’s possible for women’s holsters to be comfortable and concealable along with functional and feminine! I’m a woman, who shoots guns and I am licensed to concealed carry. Below I will go over everything we women should know about CCW. HOLSTERS FOR WOMEN are different and the same. Let’s get into it.  No, that’s…