Mississippi Concealed Pistol License Reciprocity Map

Everything about Mississippi, Permits, and Conceal Carrying a Weapon Below.

Mississippi CCW Reciprocity State Info

Mississippi Reciprocity, Mississippi Honors these permits:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories
District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Mississippi Concealed Weapons Permits are honored in These States:

RESIDENT

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

NON-RESIDENT

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

No Permit Needed States

The following states have permitless carry which allows anyone that can legally possess a firearm carry conceal:  Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia.  Some restrictions may apply.  Check each state for its own restrictions.

No Permit Carry Needed, With Restrictions

Idaho, North Dakota, and Wyoming Residents are allowed to Concealed Carry without a permit.

Mississippi Conceal Carry Permits not Honored in these states:

California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington.

Districts & Territories
District of Columbia

Mississippi Conceal Carry Permit Information

Mississippi CCW Application Fee

Application Conditions Original Renewal
Individual $112 $72
Individual - 65 years or older $112 $52
Security Guard $132 $72
Disabled Veteran $0 $0
Retired Law Enforcement Officer $0 $0
Late Renewal Fee $15

Acceptable Forms of Payment

Fees can be paid by Cash, Cashiers Check, Visa, Mastercard or Debit card. Cashiers checks will need to be made payable to: Department of Public Safety.

Residents & Non Residents

Although no permit is required to carry in Mississippi the state still offers two types of permits, a standard firearms permit and also an enhanced permit if you wish to gain a few more carry options.

  • Standard Permit - Useful for out-of-state travel and available to residents and non-residents.
  • Enhanced Permit - Allows holders to carry in off-limit areas but not a police, sheriff or highway patrol station, or jail, prison or detention center. Your permit will be endorsed on the back as ENHANCED and the endorsement is valid indefinitely. Only available to Mississippi residents.

The state of Mississippi will issue standard permits to non-residents but not the enhanced version. Applicants must meet the following criteria;

  • The applicant has a valid CCW permit from another state or;
  • is a retired law enforcement officer who is going to reside in Mississippi or;
  • is active military personnel stationed in Mississippi.

Further requirements are;

  • The applicant is a least 21 years old or older.
  • If between the age of 18-21 years old they are in the military and hold a valid Mississippi drivers license or ID card endorsed as VETERAN.
shop now

Valid for How Long

CCW permit is valid for 5 years

Shall Issue State

Unrestricted, Shall Issue

License Issued To

Residents, Non-Residents

Is Mississippi an Open Carry State?

You can open carry in Mississippi without any type of permit. Places listed as "Off Limits" still apply to those that open carry.

 

Although no permit is required to carry in Mississippi the state still offers two types of permits, a standard firearms permit and also an enhanced permit if you wish to gain a few more carry options.

  • Standard Permit - Useful for out-of-state travel and available to residents and non-residents.
  • Enhanced Permit - Allows holders to carry in off-limit areas but not a police, sheriff or highway patrol station, or jail, prison or detention center. Your permit will be endorsed on the back as ENHANCED and the endorsement is valid indefinitely. Only available to Mississippi residents.

The state of Mississippi will issue standard permits to non-residents but not the enhanced version. Applicants must meet the following criteria;

  • The applicant has a valid CCW permit from another state or;
  • is a retired law enforcement officer who is going to reside in Mississippi or;
  • is active military personnel stationed in Mississippi.

Further requirements are;

  • The applicant is a least 21 years old or older.
  • If between the age of 18-21 years old they are in the military and hold a valid Mississippi drivers license or ID card endorsed as VETERAN.

How long does it take to get a concealed weapons permit in Mississippi ? 

45 Days
New Applications must be processed  within 45 days of being received.

Mississippi Concealed Permit Requirements

  • Must be at least 21 years of age or 18 if a member of the military.
  • Applicant must have been a resident of the state for over 12 months
  • Not suffering from a physical infirmity which prevents the safe handling of a handgun
  • No violent misdemeanor convictions within the last 3 years
  • Desires a legal means to carry a stun gun, concealed pistol or revolver to defend himself.
  • Does not chronically and habitually use alcoholic beverages to the extent that his normal faculties are impaired.
  • Has not had adjudication of guilt withheld or imposition of sentence suspended on any felony unless three (3) years have elapsed since probation or any other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled
  • Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons 

Can I carry a gun in my car in Mississippi ?

Deadly weapons; carrying while concealed; use or attempt to use; penalties; "concealed" defined

(2) It shall not be a violation of this section for any person over the age of eighteen (18) years to carry a firearm or deadly weapon concealed within the confines of his own home or his place of business, or any real property associated with his home or business or within any motor vehicle.

You can not apply for a concealed pistol license if you

  • Are not at least 21 years of age or 18 if a member of the military.
  • have not been a resident of the state for over 12 months
  • Are suffering from a physical infirmity which prevents the safe handling of a handgun
  • Have violent misdemeanor convictions within the last 3 years
  • Does chronically and habitually use alcoholic beverages to the extent that his normal faculties are impaired.
  • Has  had adjudication of guilt withheld or imposition of sentence suspended on any felony unless three (3) years have elapsed since probation or any other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled
  • Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons 

Where to Apply for a Mississippi Conceal Permit License

  1. Download the application in the forms section.
  2. Fill out all parts of the application.
  3. You will now need to get the application notarized.
  4. You will need two forms of ID and one must be a photo ID, here’s a few examples; (more are listed on the DPS website)
    • Drivers License
    • State ID card
    • Birth certificate
    • Social security card
  5. You must have a photo attached to the application that fits in the box on page 12.
  6. Now take the application to the Department of Public Safety or a Highway Patrol substation.
  7. Your fingerprints will be taken, then its just a waiting game.
  8. You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.

Concealed Firearm Permit application

Mississippi Conceal Carry Laws

  • Notify officer of Carry

    NO - MUST INFORM OFFICER

    There is nothing in Mississippi gun law that states you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business.

    The law requires that you carry the permit, together with photo ID, at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun.

    The Law
    45.9.101

  • In Mississippi, Can you Conceal Carry in bar? Conceal Carry In Liquor establishments?

    No

  • Not allowed to carry in these areas

    • Any courthouse
    • Police, sheriff or highway patrol station
    • Any detention facility, prison or jail
    • Polling place
    • Meeting of a government or legislative body
    • Any elementary or secondary school facility; any junior college, community college, college or university facility
    • School, college or professional athletic event not related to firearms
    • Church or place of worship
    • Premises posted “carrying of a pistol or revolver is prohibited”
    • Establishment that sells alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises
    • The passenger terminal of any airport, except if the firearm is encased for shipment
    • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 

    Note

    Enhanced permit holders can carry in off-limit areas with the exception of police, sheriff or highway patrol stations or a jail, prison or detention center. 

  • Constitutional carry

    YES

    No permits are required to carry a firearm in Mississippi making it a constitutional carry state.

  • Carry in Restaurant

    YES


    In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol

    "Yes" or "No" states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with "NO GUN" signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a "Yes" then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.

    The Law
    45.9.101

  • Carry in State Parks

    YES

    You are permitted to carry in the following areas;

    • State Parks:       YES - 45.9.101
    • State/National Forests:     ? Nothing to say carry is allowed
    • State Wildlife Management Areas:     YES - WMA regulations
    • Road Side Rest Areas:     YES
  • Premises that have Rules that state no firearms allowed:

    ) No county or a municipality may use the written notice provisions of Section 45-9-101(13) to prohibit firearms on property under their control except in the locations listed in subsection (1)(f) of this section. Nothing in this subsection shall limit the ability of a county or municipality to post signs:

    • (a) At a location listed in Section 45-9-101(13) indicating that a license issued under Section 45-9-101 does not authorize the holder to carry a firearm into that location, as long as the sign also indicates that carrying a firearm is unauthorized only for license holders without a training endorsement or that it is a location included in Section 310 97-37-7(2) where carrying a firearm is unauthorized for all license holders; and
    • (b) At any location under the control of the county or municipality aside from a location listed in subsection (1)(f) of this section or Section 45-9-101(13) indicating that the possession of a firearm is prohibited on the premises, as long as the sign also indicates that it does not apply to a person properly licensed under Section 45-9-101 or Section 97-37-7(2) to carry a concealed firearm or to a person lawfully carrying a firearm that is not concealed.
    • (f) To regulate the carrying of a firearm at: (i) a public park or at a public meeting of a county, municipality or other governmental body; (ii) a political rally, parade or official political meeting; or (iii) a nonfirearm-related school, college or professional athletic event;

    (5) (a) A citizen of this state, or a person licensed to carry a concealed pistol or revolver under Section 45-9- 101, or a person licensed to carry a concealed pistol or revolver with the endorsement under Section 97-37-7, who is adversely affected by an ordinance or posted written notice adopted by a county or municipality in violation of this section may file suit for declarative and injunctive relief against a county or municipality in the circuit court which shall have jurisdiction over the county or municipality where the violation of this section occurs.

    ) No county or a municipality may use the written notice provisions of Section 45-9-101(13) to prohibit firearms on property under their control except in the locations listed in subsection (1)(f) of this section. Nothing in this subsection shall limit the ability of a county or municipality to post signs:

    • (a) At a location listed in Section 45-9-101(13) indicating that a license issued under Section 45-9-101 does not authorize the holder to carry a firearm into that location, as long as the sign also indicates that carrying a firearm is unauthorized only for license holders without a training endorsement or that it is a location included in Section 310 97-37-7(2) where carrying a firearm is unauthorized for all license holders; and
    • (b) At any location under the control of the county or municipality aside from a location listed in subsection (1)(f) of this section or Section 45-9-101(13) indicating that the possession of a firearm is prohibited on the premises, as long as the sign also indicates that it does not apply to a person properly licensed under Section 45-9-101 or Section 97-37-7(2) to carry a concealed firearm or to a person lawfully carrying a firearm that is not concealed.
    • (f) To regulate the carrying of a firearm at: (i) a public park or at a public meeting of a county, municipality or other governmental body; (ii) a political rally, parade or official political meeting; or (iii) a nonfirearm-related school, college or professional athletic event;

    (5) (a) A citizen of this state, or a person licensed to carry a concealed pistol or revolver under Section 45-9- 101, or a person licensed to carry a concealed pistol or revolver with the endorsement under Section 97-37-7, who is adversely affected by an ordinance or posted written notice adopted by a county or municipality in violation of this section may file suit for declarative and injunctive relief against a county or municipality in the circuit court which shall have jurisdiction over the county or municipality where the violation of this section occurs.

    License to Carry Stun Gun, Concealed Pistol or Revolver

    (13) … In addition to the places enumerated in this subsection, the carrying of a stun gun, concealed pistol or revolver may be disallowed in any place in the discretion of the person or entity exercising control over the physical location of such place by the placing of a written notice clearly readable at a distance of not less than ten (10) feet that the "carrying of a pistol or revolver is prohibited."

     

5 Great Survival Firearms

By Holster HQ | November 6, 2019

Whether you are lost in the woods, broken down in the desert, or have found yourself in a disaster situation, staying safe or finding food may prove difficult without a proper firearm. You never know what could go wrong, and different survival situations call for different styles of weapons. Here is a list of five…

How to Mount a Scope

By Holster HQ | September 24, 2019

              How to Mount a Scope – a Guide from the Expert If you are a hunter, knowing how to mount a scope is paramount. It can also save you some money because you will not have to take your rifle to a gunsmith to do the job for…

Types of Holsters

By Holster HQ | March 5, 2019

Types of Holsters     Holsters are a great way of safely and comfortably carrying a weapon. But there are a lot of different types out there, with dozens of brands. How can you find the right holster for you? Here, we’ll guide you through all of the major types of holsters and help you…

10 Best Ruger SR9C IWB Holsters | Concealed SR9C Holster

By Holster HQ | August 27, 2018

We tried out several different Ruger SR9C IWB holsters and came up with this list of the 10 best Ruger SR9C holsters for sale. We prefer inside the waistband (IWB) holsters because they hold your gun securely, are easily concealable and highly comfortable. The Ruger SR9c is a great concealed carry weapon and it’s an amazing concealed…