Minnesota Concealed Carry License Reciprocity Map
Everything about Minnesota, Permits, and Conceal Carrying a Weapon Below.
Minnesota CCW Reciprocity State Info
Minnesota Reciprocity, Mn Honors these permits:
Alaska, Delaware, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Dakota, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, West Virginia
Idaho – Honors ID Enhanced Only
Minnesota Concealed Weapons Permits are honored in These States:RESIDENT
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin NON-RESIDENT
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin
No Permit Needed States
The following states have permitless carry which allows anyone that can legally possess a firearm carry conceal: Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia. Some restrictions may apply. Check each state for its own restrictions.
No Permit Carry Needed, With Restrictions
Idaho, North Dakota, and Wyoming Residents are allowed to Concealed Carry without a permit.
MInnesota Conceal Carry Permits not Honored in these states:
NOT Honored by These States:
California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, New York City, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, West Virginia, Washington, Wyoming, Texas,
Minnesota Conceal Carry Permit Information
Minnesota CCW Application Fee
Fees are determined by the county Sheriff.New Permits: not to exceed $100
Renewal: not to exceed $75 NOTE
an additional fee of $10 will be applied if a renewal is 30 days after the expiration date.
Residents & Non Residents
Resident and non-resident permits are available. Applicants must be at least 21 years old and complete a firearms training course. Applications are made at the local level to the county sheriff’s office in the person’s county of residence. Non-residents can apply at any sheriff’s office. Permits are not required for transporting a firearm, keeping it at home or in a place of business.
Valid for How Long
The permit is valid for 5 years.
Shall Issue State
Minnesota gun laws operate on a “Shall Issue” policy.
Is Minnesota an Open Carry State?
Can I open carry in Minnesota?NO – Without a Permit
YES – With a Permit
Open carry is legal inn Minnesota if you have a license to carry.
How long does it take to get a concealed weapons permit in Minnesota?30 Days
The application for a concealed carry permit/license must be processed within 30 days of the application being received.
Minnesota Concealed Permit Requirements
- Must be at least 21 years of age
- Must complete an application form
- Must not be prohibited from possessing a firearm under Minnesota law
- Must not be listed in the criminal gang investigation system
- Must be a resident of the county from which you are requesting a permit, if you reside in Minnesota. Non-residents may apply to any Minnesota county sheriff.
- Must provide certificate of completed authorized firearms training.
- Federal Law – Applies
Can I carry a gun in my car in Minnesota?YES/NO – Without a Permit/License
It is illegal to carry a loaded firearm in any vehicle without a permit/license. You can still carry a firearm in a vehicle provided the firearm is unloaded and stored in a locked container. These restrictions do not apply if you have a concealed carry permit/license.
Where to Apply for Minnesota Conceal Carry License and steps to take
Concealed carry permits/licenses are issued by the local Chief of Police or county Sheriff. Non-residents can apply to any county Sheriff.
- Complete a firearms training course, must be within one year of your application.
- Download the application under the FORMS tab or pickup from your Sheriffs office.
- You will need the following documents;
- Completed application form
- Photocopy of certificate from firearms course
- Photocopy of your drivers license or state ID card or photo page of your passport
- Submit all the above documents to the Sheriffs Office in the county you reside in.
- You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.
Minnesota Conceal Carry Laws
Notify officer of Carry
NO – Must Inform Officer on Contact By Law
There is nothing in Minnesota gun laws that state you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. The law does require you to carry your permit, together with photo ID, at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun.
In Minnesosta, Can you Conceal Carry in bar? Conceal Carry In Liquor establishments?Yes
Not allowed to carry in these areas
- Public or private elementary, middle, or secondary school building and grounds
- A child care center while children are present
- School bus
- Portion of a building or facility under the temporary, exclusive control of a public or private school where signs are posted.
- Public colleges and universities – may have policy restricting the carrying of weapons on their premises by employees and students while on campus
- Private establishments that have posted a sign banning guns on their premises
- Places of employment, public or private, if employer restricts the carry or possession of firearms by is employees
- State correctional facilities
- State hospitals and grounds
- Any jail, lockup or correctional facility
- Courthouse complexes
- Churches and parking area if posted
- Offices and courtrooms of the Minnesota Supreme Court and Court of Appeals
- Any state building
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Carry in RestaurantYes,
Carry in State Parks
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- All areas of the state – except those listed below
Premises that have Rules that state no firearms allowed:NO
“No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Minnesota gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law due to an Appeals Court ruling (A07-131) unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned in the law as being off limits.However it possible to be prosecuted
MInnesota Conceal Carry Application Forms
Minnesota Department of Public Safety
Bureau of Criminal Apprehension
Monday – Friday8am – 4pm
Address1430 Maryland Ave. East
CitySt. Paul, MN 55106