Massachusetts Concealed Pistol License Reciprocity Map
Everything about Massachusetts, Permits, and Conceal Carrying a Weapon Below.
Massachusetts CCW Reciprocity State Info
Massachusetts Reciprocity, MA Honors these permits:
Massachusetts does not honor any other states permits
Massachusetts Concealed Weapons Permits are honored in These States:RESIDENT
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin NON-RESIDENT
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin
No Permit Needed States
The following states have permitless carry which allows anyone that can legally possess a firearm carry conceal: Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia. Some restrictions may apply. Check each state for its own restrictions.
No Permit Carry Needed, With Restrictions
Idaho, North Dakota, and Wyoming Residents are allowed to Concealed Carry without a permit.
Massachusetts Conceal Carry Permits not Honored in these states:
Washington, Oregon, California, Colorado, Nevada, Wyoming, New Mexico, North Dakota, Nebraska, Minnesota, Illinois, Louisiana, Maine, New York, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Delaware,Washington DC, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, Maryland, Hawaii, West Virginia, New Jersey, Connecticut
Washington Conceal Carry Permit Information
Massachusetts CCW Application FeeNew Permits:
$100 (Residents 6 years)
$100 (Non-residents 1 year)
Residents & Non Residents
Massachusetts issues permits to residents and non-residents
Valid for How Long
Massachusetts concealed carry permit is valid for 6 years for residents and 1 year for non-residents
Shall Issue State
Massachusetts gun laws operate on the “May Issue” policy. Licences to carry (LTC) are issued to residents and non-residents. Non-residents must apply for a temporary license before traveling to the state. Applicants must be at least 21 years old and have passed a firearms training course to apply.
Is Massachusetts an Open Carry State?NO – Without a Permit/License
If you do not have a permit/license then you cannot open carry.
There are no laws that prevent a permit/license holder carrying a concealed firearm openly. I would be very cautious though, you will definitely attract attention from law enforcement and could end up a test case.
How long does it take to get a concealed weapons permit in Massachusetts40 Days
The application for a concealed carry permit/license must be processed within 40 days of the application being received.
Massachusetts Concealed Permit Requirements
- Must be at least 21 years old
- You must be a US citizen or legal alien.
- Completed a firearms training course.
- Have no Felony
- No Drug violations
- No Violent crimes
- No misdemeanor punishable by more than two years in prison
- You must not have any outstanding warrants
- You must not be subject to a current restraining order
- It must be more than five years since any treatment for drug or alcohol addiction.
- If you have been hospitalized for mental illness, you must submit an affidavit from a registered physician endorsing your ability to possess a firearm.
- Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons
Can I carry a gun in my car in Massachusetts?NO – Without a Permit/License
If you do not have a permit you cannot carry a loaded firearm inside any vehicle. Unlawfully carrying a firearm in a vehicle, or in one’s possession outside one’s residence or place of business, without the required license or card, subjects a person to a mandatory minimimum sentence of 1 year in jail or 2 1/2 years in prison. A permit/license holder can transport a loaded or unloaded handgun on his person or in a motor vehicle if the handgun is under their direct control.
Where to Apply for a Massachusetts Conceal Carry Permit and steps to take
Concealed carry permits/licenses are issued by the local police department where the applicant resides or has a place of business. Non-residents need to file their application with the Firearms Records Bureau.
Follow these steps to obtain a permit
- Download the application from under the FORMS tab.
- Resident – Check with your local Police as to what is required, there were some changes in 2017.
- Non-Resident – Check with the Firearms Record Bureau as to what is required, there were some changes in 2017.
- You will be notified within 40 days by mail if your application has been approved or denied.
Massachusetts Conceal Carry Laws
Notify officer of Carry
NO – Must Inform Officer on Contact By LawThere is nothing in Massachusetts gun laws that state you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. The law does require you to carry your permit at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun.
In Massachusetts Can you Conceal Carry in bar? Conceal Carry In Liquor establishments?No
Not allowed to carry in these areas
Where You Cannot Carry
- Elementary or secondary school, college or university
- Logan Airport security zone
- When using off highway vehicle such as snowmobile
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Carry in RestaurantYes
Carry in State Parks
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- All areas of the state – except those listed below
Premises that have signs that state no firearms allowed:NO“No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Massachusetts gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned in the law as being off limits.
Massachusetts Conceal Carry Application Forms
Firearms Records Bureau
Monday – Friday9am – 5pm
Address200 Arlington St. Suite 2200
CityChelsea, MA 02150