Maine Concealed Pistol License Reciprocity Map

Everything about Maine, Permits, and Conceal Carrying a Weapon Below.

Maine CCW Reciprocity State Info

Maine Reciprocity, Maine Honors these permits:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Wyoming

Maine will only honor resident permit/licenses from all the states they recognize.

Maine Concealed Weapons Permits are honored in These States:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin.

Michigan only recognizes Washington resident permits, not non-resident.

No Permit Needed States

The following states have permitless carry which allows anyone that can legally possess a firearm carry conceal:  Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia.  Some restrictions may apply.  Check each state for its own restrictions.

No Permit Carry Needed, With Restrictions

Idaho, North Dakota, and Wyoming Residents are allowed to Concealed Carry without a permit.

Maine Conceal Carry Permits not Honored in these states:

NOT Honored by These States:

California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Massachusetts, Maryland, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Washington, Washington DC, West Virginia,

Maine Conceal Carry Permit Information

Maine CCW Application Fee

New Permits: $35
Renewal: $20

The cost is $2 for a duplicate permit, change of address or name change.

Residents & Non Residents

Maine is an “Unrestricted” & “shall issue” state.
Non-Resident permits available.
No permit is required.

shop now

Valid for How Long

Maine's concealed carry permit is valid for 4 years

Shall Issue State

Maine is an “Unrestricted” & “shall issue” state.

 

Is Maine an Open Carry State?

YES – Without a Permit/License
Open carrying a handgun without a permit/license in Maine is legal but not common in cities. You cannot open carry in State Parks.

How long does it take to get a concealed weapons permit in Maine?

30 Days
The application for a concealed carry permit/license must be processed within 30 days of the application being received if you have been a resident for more than 5 years. If your residency is under 5 years it can take up to 60 days to process your application.

Maine Concealed Permit Requirements

  • You are at least 18 years old.
  • You are not prohibited by state law from possessing a firearm.
  • Demonstrates to the issuing authority a knowledge of handgun safety.
  • You are of good moral character. The issuing authority will make this determination based on past evidence recorded through government entities within the last five years.
  • Have not been convicted in a Maine court of a violation of Possession of firearms in an establishment licensed for on premises consumption of liquor within the past 5 years.
  • You have not been the subject of an investigation by any law enforcement agency within the past 5 years regarding the alleged abuse by you of family or household members
  • You have not been convicted in any jurisdiction within the past 5 years of 3 or more crimes punishable by a term of imprisonment of less than one year or of crimes classified under the laws of a state as a misdemeanor and punishable by a term of imprisonment of 2 years or less.
  • You have not engaged within the past 5 years in reckless or negligent conduct that has been the subject of an investigation by a governmental entity.
  • You have not been convicted in a Maine court within the past 5 years of any drug crime.
  • Federal Law applies 

Can I carry a gun in my car in Maine?

YES – Without a Permit/License
Any person in Maine older than 21 years (18 – 20 if in the military) who can legally own a firearm can carry a loaded, concealed handgun in a motor vehicle without a permit/license.

You can not apply for a concealed pistol license if you;

  • You are not at least 18 years old.
  • You are prohibited by state law from possessing a firearm.
  • Can not demonstrate to the issuing authority a knowledge of handgun safety.
  • You are not of good moral character. The issuing authority will make this determination based on past evidence recorded through government entities within the last five years.
  • Have been convicted in a Maine court of a violation of Possession of firearms in an establishment licensed for on premises consumption of liquor within the past 5 years.
  • You have you been the subject of an investigation by any law enforcement agency within the past 5 years regarding the alleged abuse by you of family or household members
  • You have you been convicted in any jurisdiction within the past 5 years of 3 or more crimes punishable by a term of imprisonment of less than one year or of crimes classified under the laws of a state as a misdemeanor and punishable by a term of imprisonment of 2 years or less.
  • You have engaged within the past 5 years in reckless or negligent conduct that has been the subject of an investigation by a governmental entity.
  • You have been convicted in a Maine court within the past 5 years of any drug crime.
  • Federal Law –Applies

Where to Apply for a Maine Conceal Permit License

  1. To apply for a permit/license in Maine, you must read the CCW pamphlet entitled Laws Relating to Permits to Carry Concealed Firearms.
  2. Download the application from under the FORMS tab.
  3. Complete and return the following;
    • An application for a concealed carry permit.
    • Two Authority to Release Information forms.
    • Fee of $35 fee for a new applicants or a $20 renewal fee for a renewal application made payable to the Treasurer, State of Maine.
    • Any necessary copies of CCW permits issued by other states or municipalities within Maine.
    • A valid copy of the DD-214 form for members of the Armed Forces.
    • A valid copy of a birth certificate or INS document.
    • One color passport photograph at 2″ x 2″.
    • Proof of knowledge of handgun safety.
  4. Mail your application to the state police or take to your local police station.
  5. You will be notified within 30 days by mail if your application has been approved or denied.

Maine Conceal Carry Laws

  • Notify officer of Carry

    YES/NO – Must Inform Officer on Contact By Law
    No License – Under Maine gun laws if you are carrying under permitless carry you must inform law enforcement immediately you have a concealed firearm.
    With license – If you have a permit/license that Maine honors then you do not need to inform law enforcement you are carrying a firearm. You are required to present your permit/license and ID when requested to do so.

  • In Maine Can you Conceal Carry in bar? Conceal Carry In Liquor establishments?

    YES – IF NOT POSTED – In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol
    “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol ( restaurant or bar but cannot drink alcohol) . Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.

  • Not allowed to carry in these areas

    • Courthouses
    • State Parks
    • Acadia National Park
    • Schools
    • State Capitol area
    • Private property when prohibited by the property owner
    • Establishments licensed for on-premises consumption of liquor, if the premises are posted. Note that even if there is no posted prohibition, it is illegal to carry on these premises while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs
    • Wildlife Sanctuaries
    • Labor disputes and strikes
    • Baxter State Park
    • Allagash Wilderness Waterway
    • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 

  • Constitutional carry

    yes

  • Carry in Restaurant

    Yes but if there are no gun signs then signs must be obeyed

  • Carry in State Parks

    Where You Can Carry

    • State and national forests
    • Road side rest areas
    • Vehicle
    • All areas of the state – except those listed as not allowed to carry

  • Premises that have Rules that state no firearms allowed:

    YES
    Maine gun laws give “No Weapons” signs force of law. There are legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs.

    We recommend that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons” sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.

Maine Conceal Carry Application Forms

Concealed carry permits/licenses are issued by the Department of Public Safety through the State Police.

 

Maine CCW Application

j frame pistol

Best Holster for J Frame – Reviews in 2020

By Mark Wallace | June 10, 2020

  You probably searched for something like What is the Best Holster for J Frame Review in 2020   If that is how you ended up here then you are in the right place. But all things considered, there is no one holster fits all. Below we have listed some really good choices in different…

woman shooting

THESE ARE THE BEST-CONCEALED CARRY HANDGUNS FOR WOMEN, RECOMMENDED BY WOMEN

By Mark Wallace | June 5, 2020

Source There are several important characteristics to look for when choosing a self-defense handgun.  The firearm must be chambered in a cartridge powerful enough to reliably stop an assailant.  The firearm must fit comfortably in the hands of an average woman.  While smaller firearms are easier to carry and conceal, they are generally not as…

competition shooting

IDPA Holsters (International Defensive Pistol Association)

By Mark Wallace | May 28, 2020

What does IDPA stand for Want to check out a competitive action shooting competition? Then the IDPA may be right for you. IDPA stands for International Defensive Pistol Association. The IDPA was founded in 1996 in Bogata, Texas. This form of competitive shooting revolves around “real life” defensive scenarios. The competitor uses only handguns. No…

Leather Holster

DIY How to Make a Molded Leather Holster

By Mark Wallace | May 27, 2020

There’s nothing quite like a leather holster. They feel great, hold your pistol securely, and have a classic look that is to die for. However, leather holsters—like all leather products—can be very expensive. If you have a usual pistol, you may also struggle to find a leather holster that fits your gun well.  There’s a…