Louisiana Concealed Carry Permit Reciprocity Map

All about Louisiana, Permits, and Conceal Carrying a Weapon Below.

Louisiana CCW Reciprocity State Info

Louisiana Reciprocity, LA Honors these permits:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Louisiana Concealed Weapons Permits are honored in These States:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

No Permit Needed States

The following states have permitless carry which allows anyone that can legally possess a firearm carry conceal:  Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia.  Some restrictions may apply.  Check each state for its own restrictions.

No Permit Carry Needed, With Restrictions

Idaho, North Dakota, and Wyoming Residents are allowed to Concealed Carry without a permit.

Louisiana Conceal Carry Permits not Honored in these states:

NOT Honored by These States: California Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, New York City, Oregon, Rhode Island.

Louisiana Conceal Carry Permit Information

Louisiana Application Fee

New Permits 21 years old to 64 $125     Seniors 64 and up $62.50

Lifetime Permits 21 years old to 64 $500   Seniors 64 and up $250

Renewal 21 years old to 64 $125    Seniors 64 and up $62.50

Accepted forms of payment
Money order, Cashier’s check, or Certified check

NOTE
Active Military/National Guard cost is $62.50 for 5 years or $250 for Lifetime.
Honorably Discharged Veterans of the Military/National Guard/Reserves – there is no charge for 5 year or Lifetime Permit.
If you have not continuously resided within the State of Louisiana for the 15 years immediately
preceding the date on which your application is received, an additional $50 non-refundable fee shall be
submitted. This is only for first-time applicants and is not required for any renewals.

Residents & Non Residents

Concealed carry permits are available for residents only, non-resident permits are not available. 

shop now

Valid for How Long

There are two types of permits, a five year and lifetime permit. Honorably discharged veterans of the military can obtain a permit with no charge.

Shall Issue State

Louisiana gun laws operate on a “Shall Issue” policy.

Is Louisiana an Open Carry State?

YES – Without a Permit/License
Open carry is legal if you are at least 18 years old as required by federal law. State law has set a lower age but Federal law overrides that.

How long does it take to get a concealed weapons permit in Louisiana?

No limitation on how long an application takes to process.

Louisiana Concealed Permit Requirements

  • Must be at least 21 years old
  • Completed a firearm training course
  • Be a resident of the state of Louisiana
  • You are a US citizen
  • Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor in this or any other state relating to a controlled dangerous substance within the last five years.
  • Not have been convicted of a crime of violence within the last five years.
  • Not have been convicted of a crime of violence or any crime punishable by imprisonment for a term of one year or greater. However, a person who has been convicted of a violation of 18 U.S.C. 491(a) shall be permitted to qualify for a concealed handgun permit if fifteen or more years has elapsed.
  • Not have had a permit revoked within four years prior to the most recent application.
  • Not have had a permit denied within one year prior to the most recent application.
  • Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons 

Can I carry a gun in my car in Louisiana?

YES – Without a Permit
The law does not prohibit the carrying of handguns in vehicles.

Where to Apply for Louisiana Conceal Permit and steps to get one.

    1. Complete a firearms training course.
    2. Download the application form or make an online application
    3. You will need some of the following documents;
      • Application with the 3 affidavits completed and notarized.
      • Copy of Louisiana Driver’s License or Louisiana Identification Card.
      • Copy of Louisiana permanent injunction or the protective order. (If Applicable)
      • Correct Fee as described in Rule Booklet.
      • Proof of Training as described in Rule Booklet.
      • Two sets of fingerprints on an FBI Applicant Card. If the fingerprints were taken electronically, they must be on two separate cards.
      • Marital Status – If you are divorced, copies of the divorce settlement, decree, or final judgment along with any orders or injunctions of the court must be included.
      • Arrests – If you have been arrested, you must include Certified True Copies of court minutes as requested in “Arrests, Detention, and Litigation Section.” You must still list violations that were EXPUNGED, DISMISSED, or SET ASIDE or for which you were PARDONED.
      • Military – If you have served in the Armed Forces of the United States, you must include a copy of your DD-214. If you are currently serving in the Armed Forces of the United States, you must include a copy of your current orders or a copy of your military ID if allowed.
      • Medical Summary Disposition – If you answered “yes” to any of the medical questions #13-19, the Medical Summary must be completed by the treating physician. This information MUST be included with your application.
    4. Contact your local police office, local sheriff’s department, or State Police Headquarters in Baton Rouge for fingerprinting.
    5. You can submit your application and documents by mail to;

Louisiana State Police
Concealed Handgun Permit Unit
PO Box 66375
Baton Rouge, LA 70896

  1. You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved

Concealed carry permits are issued by the Louisiana State Police.

Concealed Handgun Permit Unit
PO Box 66375
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70896

Louisiana Conceal Carry Laws

  • Notify officer of Carry

    “YES” – Must Inform Officer on Contact By Law
    Louisiana gun laws state that you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when topped.You must also carry a permit at all times when you are in actual possession of a concealed handgun.

  • In Louisiana, Can you Conceal Carry in bar? Conceal Carry In Liquor establishments?

    • Prohibited Locations:  Any portion of the permitted area of an establishment that has been granted a Class A-General retail permit, as defined in Part II of Chapter 1 or Part II of Chapter 2 of Title 26 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, to sell alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises.

  • Not allowed to carry in these areas

    Where You Cannot Carry

    • A law enforcement office, station, or building.
    • A detention facility, prison, or jail.
    • A courthouse or courtroom, provided that a judge may carry such a weapon in his own courtroom.
    • A polling place.
    • A meeting place of the governing authority of a political subdivision.
    • The state capitol building.
    • Any portion of an airport facility where the carrying of firearms is prohibited under federal law, except that no person shall be prohibited from carrying any legal firearm into the terminal, if the firearm is encased for shipment, for the purpose of checking such firearm as lawful baggage.
    • Any church, synagogue, mosque or similar place of worship.
    • A parade or demonstration for which a permit is issued by a governmental entity.
    • Any establishment that sells alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises. Restaurants are OK but you can’t carry in the bar area of a restaurant.
    • Any school firearm free zone (within 1000ft of a school or on a school bus).
    • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 

  • Constitutional carry

    No

  • Carry in Restaurant

    Yes, but be careful not to walk through prohibited areas such as the bar or on your way to the bathroom.  

  • Carry in State Parks

    Where You Can Carry

    • State parks
    • State and national forests
    • Road side rest areas
    • Vehicle
    • All areas of the state – except those listed below 

  • Premises that have signs that state no firearms allowed:

    YES
    “No Weapons” signs have the force of law under Louisiana gun laws. There are legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs.

Louisiana Conceal Carry Application Forms

Louisiana Contacts


Louisiana State Police
Concealed Handgun Permit Unit

Hours

Monday – Friday8:30am – 4:30pm

SaturdayClosed

SundayClosed

Contact

Address7919 Independence Blvd.

CityBaton Rouge, LA 70806

Phone(225) 925-4867

Email[email protected]

Concealed Handgun Permit application form
Online Handgun Permit application

5 Great Survival Firearms

By Holster HQ | November 6, 2019

Whether you are lost in the woods, broken down in the desert, or have found yourself in a disaster situation, staying safe or finding food may prove difficult without a proper firearm. You never know what could go wrong, and different survival situations call for different styles of weapons. Here is a list of five…

How to Mount a Scope

By Holster HQ | September 24, 2019

              How to Mount a Scope – a Guide from the Expert If you are a hunter, knowing how to mount a scope is paramount. It can also save you some money because you will not have to take your rifle to a gunsmith to do the job for…

Types of Holsters

By Holster HQ | March 5, 2019

Types of Holsters     Holsters are a great way of safely and comfortably carrying a weapon. But there are a lot of different types out there, with dozens of brands. How can you find the right holster for you? Here, we’ll guide you through all of the major types of holsters and help you…

10 Best Ruger SR9C IWB Holsters | Concealed SR9C Holster

By Holster HQ | August 27, 2018

We tried out several different Ruger SR9C IWB holsters and came up with this list of the 10 best Ruger SR9C holsters for sale. We prefer inside the waistband (IWB) holsters because they hold your gun securely, are easily concealable and highly comfortable. The Ruger SR9c is a great concealed carry weapon and it’s an amazing concealed…