Kentucky Concealed Carry License Reciprocity Map
All about Kentucky, Permits, and Conceal Carrying a Weapon Below.
Kentucky CCW Reciprocity State Info
Kentucky Reciprocity, KY Honors these permits:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Kentucky Concealed Weapons Permits are honored in These States:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
No Permit Needed States
The following states have permitless carry which allows anyone that can legally possess a firearm carry conceal: Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia. Some restrictions may apply. Check each state for its own restrictions.
No Permit Carry Needed, With Restrictions
Idaho, North Dakota, and Wyoming Residents are allowed to Concealed Carry without a permit.
Kentucky Conceal Carry Permits not Honored in these states:
California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington.
Kentucky Conceal Carry Permit Information
Kentucky CCW Application Fee
Standard permit $60
Two payments for the application fee are required.
$20 to county sheriff, $40 check or money order – payable to “Kentucky State Treasurer”
Residents & Non Residents
The license is only issued to residents
Except for military personnel stationed in Kentucky and meet the requirements
Valid for How Long
Kentucky’s concealed carry permit is good for 5 years
Shall Issue State
Kentucky operates on a “Shall Issue” policy If you apply for a concealed carry permit you are required to complete a firearms safety course. You must pass a marksmanship test.
Is Kentucky an Open Carry State?
Open carry in Kentucky is not prohibited by law? Yes
You must be at least 18 to open carry.
How long does it take to get a concealed weapons permit in Kentucky?90 Days
Once you apply it will be processed within 90 days.
Kentucky Concealed Permit Requirements
- Must be at least 21 years old.
- Demonstrate competence with a firearm.
- Resident of Kentucky for at least six months prior to application.
- Are a US citizen or legal resident.
- Not have been committed to a state or federal facility for abuse of a controlled substance or convicted of a misdemeanor relating to a controlled substance within the last three years prior to application.
- Not have two or more convictions for Operating motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or other substance which impairs driving ability within the last three years prior to application.
- Not have been committed as an alcoholic within the last three years.
- Not owe a child support in arrears which equals or exceeds the cumulative amount which would be owed after one year of nonpayment.
- Have complied with any subpoena or warrant relating to child support or paternity proceedings.
- Have not been convicted of Assault in the fourth degree or (Terroristic Threatening in the third degree within the three years immediately preceding the date on which the application is submitted.
- Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons
Can I carry a gun in my car in Kentucky?
Carrying Concealed Deadly Weapon.
A loaded or unloaded firearm or other deadly weapon shall not be deemed concealed on or about the person if it is located in any enclosed container, compartment, or storage space [regularly] installed as original equipment in a motor vehicle by its manufacturer, including but not limited to a glove compartment, center console, or seat pocket, regardless of whether said enclosed container, storage space, or compartment is locked, unlocked, or does not have a locking mechanism. No person or organization, public or private, shall prohibit a person from keeping a loaded or unloaded firearm or ammunition, or both, or other deadly weapon in a vehicle in accordance with the provisions of this subsection. Any attempt by a person or organization, public or private, to violate the provisions of this subsection may be the subject of an action for appropriate relief or for damages in a Circuit Court or District Court of competent jurisdiction. This subsection shall not apply to any person prohibited from possessing a firearm pursuant to KRS 527.040.
Where to Apply for Kentucky Conceal Carry Permit/License and steps to take
Follow these steps to obtain a permit
You will need your passport like picture, SSN number, $60 for permit, Complete your firearm training course and show certificate that you passed.You will need to complete the application at the sheriffs office in the county you live in and the form must be signed under oath.
Kentucky Conceal Carry Laws
Notify officer of Carry
NO – MUST INFORM OFFICER
There is nothing in Kentucky gun laws that states you must inform a law enforcement officer you are concealed carrying. You must have your permit with you when you carry
Can you Conceal Carry in bar? Conceal Carry In Liquor establishments?You are not allowed to carry in an business that main business is to serve alcohol.
Not allowed to carry in these areasAny police station or sheriff’s office, Any detention facility, prison, or jail , Any courthouse, courtroom, or court proceeding, Any meeting of the governing body of a county, municipality, or special district, Any meeting of the General Assembly or a committee of the General Assembly, Any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense beer or alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, which portion of the establishment is primarily devoted to that purpose, Any elementary or secondary school facility, Any child-caring facility, day-care center, or certified family child-care home,State and local governments have the authority to limit the carrying of concealed weapons on property owned or controlled by them,Colleges, universities, technical schools and community colleges have the authority to limit the carrying of concealed weapons on property owned or controlled by them, An area of an airport to which access is controlled by the inspection of persons and property,Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Carry in Restaurant
YESIn Restaurants That Serve Alcohol. You can carry in a restaurant but not in the bar area as long as the restaurant is not posted with a “No guns” signs.
Carry in State ParksYESState parks, State and national forests, Road side rest areas, Vehicle, All areas of the state – except those listed as off limits
Premises that have signs that state no firearms allowed:“No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Kentucky gun laws. The law does let any private business to ban concealed carry on their property, this does not include open carry though. Companies that lease or rent housing are not permitted to restrict concealed carry. Private employers can prohibit their own employees from concealing a handguns in company owned vehicles but not vehicles that are owned by an individual. State and local government employers can ban the carry of weapons within their buildings but not in vehicles.
Kentucky Conceal Carry Application Forms
Kentucky State Police
Monday – Friday9am – 5pm
Address919 Versailles Rd.
CityFrankfort, KY 40601