Kansas Concealed Pistol License Reciprocity Map
All about Kansas, Permits, and Conceal Carrying a Weapon Below.
Kansas CCW Reciprocity State Info
Kansas Reciprocity, Kansas Honors these permits:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Kansas Concealed Weapons Permits are honored in These States:RESIDENT
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming NON-RESIDENT
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
No Permit Needed States
The following states have permitless carry which allows anyone that can legally possess a firearm carry conceal: Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia. Some restrictions may apply. Check each state for its own restrictions.
No Permit Carry Needed, With Restrictions
Idaho, North Dakota, and Wyoming Residents are allowed to Concealed Carry without a permit.
Kansas Conceal Carry Permits not Honored in these states:
NOT Honored by These States: California, Connecticut, Delaware, Washington DC, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island
Kansas Conceal Carry Permit Information
Kansas Application FeeNew Permits: $132.50
Renewal: $25 Accepted forms of payment
Money order, Cashiers check, Personal check NOTE
You will need to pay the AG and the Sheriff
$100 – payable to “Office of the Attorney General”
$32.50 – payable to “Sheriff of __________ County”
Residents & Non Residents
Kansas gun laws operate on an “Unrestricted” and “Shall Issue” policy, the later being used for reciprocity. Anyone who is 21 or older and legally allowed to possess a firearm can carry it concealed without a permit. If a permit is required for out-of-state travel an application can be filed with the local sheriff. Applicants must be at least 21 years old and a resident in the county they file in. The application is executed under oath at the local sheriff’s office so must be filled out in front of the sheriff.
Permits are not available for non-residents.
Valid for How Long
Kansas concealed carry permit is valid for 4 years
Shall Issue StateKansas is an “Unrestricted” & “shall issue” state.
Shall Issue is used for reciprocty.
Permit not required
Is Kansas an Open Carry State?
Can I open carry in Kansas?YES – Without a Permit/License
Open carry is legal in Kansas with no permit if you are at least 18 years old and allowed to possess a firearm.
How long does it take to get a concealed weapons permit in Kansas?90 Days
The application for a concealed carry permit must be processed within 90 days of the application being received.
Kansas Concealed Permit Requirements
- Must be at least 21 years of age.
- You have completed an 8 hour firearms training course.
- A citizen of the United States, a permanent resident alien or an eligible non-immigrant alien.
- A resident of the State of Kansas with a valid driver’s license or state-issued identification card, or residing in Kansas while serving on active duty in the military.
- A resident of the county where applying.
- You have read the Kansas Personal and Family Protection Act and are familiar with its provisions.
- Federal Law Applies
Can I carry a gun in my car in Kansas?YES – Without a Permit/License
Anyone who is 21 years of age who can legally possess a handgun can carry it concealed or openly in Kansas without any type of permit. The minimum age for owning and transporting a handgun unloaded and secured in a vehicle without any type of permit to carry firearms is 18.
Where to Apply for Kansas Conceal Permit License and steps to apply
Concealed carry permits/licenses are issued by the Attorney General.
Applications are submitted to the sheriff of the county you live in.
Follow these steps to obtain a permit
- Complete a training course on firearms.
- Download and read the Kansas Personal and Family Protection Act from under the FORMS tab.
- Download the application under the FORMS tab.
- You will need the following documents;
- Completed application form
- Photocopy of certificate showing completion of training course
- A 2”x2” passport-style color photograph taken within the last 30 days
- A photocopy of your Kansas driver’s license or Kansas identification card
- Two checks, one for $100 (payable to Kansas Attorney General) and the other $32 (payable to the county sheriff)
- Personally submit the completed application with photo, training certificate and checks to the sheriff in the county of residence.
- The county sheriff will collect the fees, fingerprint the applicant, have the applicant sign a record check waiver and statement and forward the entire packet to the AG’s Office for processing.
- You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.
Kansas Conceal Carry Laws
Notify officer of Carry
NO – Must Inform Officer on Contact By Law
There is nothing in Kansas gun laws that states you must inform a law officer you have a firearm when stopped.
In Kansas, Can you Conceal Carry in bar? Conceal Carry In Liquor establishments?Yes -you can conceal carry in a bar but it is not legal drink alcohol while carrying
Not allowed to carry in these areas
- K-12 Schools both Public and Private Buildings if posted “No Firearms”
- Governors residence
- Any public building with a posted sign saying “No Firearms”
- Secure areas of any buildings for a correctional facility, jail facility or a law enforcement agency
- State courthouses if posted
- State racetracks if posted
- Under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Carry in RestaurantYes but can not consume alcohol
Carry in State Parks
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- Public grounds and parking lots/garages
- All areas of the state – except those listed below
Premises that have Rules that state no firearms allowed:NO
“No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Kansas gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned in the law as being off limits.