Idaho Concealed Weapons license Reciprocity map
Idaho CCW Reciprocity State Info
Idaho Concealed Carry Reciprocity, OR Honors these permits:
Colorado, Maine, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Utah and Wyoming.
Idaho Concealed Weapons Permits are honored for Standard Resident in These States:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.
The following states have permitless carry which allows anyone that can legally possess a firearm carry conceal: Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia. Some restrictions may apply. Check each state for its own restrictions.
Idaho Conceal Carry Permits for Standard Resident not Honored in these states:
NOT Honored by These States: Arizona, California, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Guam, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, New York City, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Virgin Islands, American Samoa, and N. Mariana Islands.
Hand guns must be carried in accordance with State Laws
The following states accept Idaho Enhanced Licenses: Arizona, Delaware, Minnesota, Nevada, New Mexico, South Carolina, Washington and Virginia.
Idaho Conceal Carry Permit Information
Idaho Conceal Carry Application Fee
-Idaho concealed weapon license fee is $20.00
-Idaho renewal fee is $15
- A sheriff may collect additional fees necessary to cover the cost of processing fingerprints and the cost of materials for the license.
- You apply at the county sheriff’s office where you reside.
Residents & Non Residents
Idaho state will issue concealed carry permits to both residents and non-residents.
Valid for How Long
Idaho’s concealed weapon permit is valid for 5 years
Shall Issue State
Idaho state is a shall issue state. As long as the applicant meets the requirements then they will receive a Idaho State concealed pistol license, (CPL)
Is Idaho State an Open Carry State?
Can I open carry in Idaho state? Yes but has to be clearly visible.
How long does it take to get a concealed weapons permit in the state of Idaho?
In Idaho the Concealed weapons permit application may take 4-6 weeks to process if you don’t have a criminal record.
Idaho Concealed weapons Permit Requirements
-To apply for a concealed carry permit in Idaho you must be at least 18 years old.
-You must apply in person at your local sheriff’s office.
-You must get fingerprinted
-You must have a background check
Additionally, when applying for a Enhanced License to Carry Concealed Weapons a signed copy of the Enhanced Concealed Weapons License Training Certificate, that has been completed and signed by a valid firearms instructor, must accompany the application form. The Idaho State Police will not accept applications directly from the applicant, all applications must be submitted to an Idaho Sheriff.
Can I carry a gun in my car in Idaho state?
Yes you can transport in a car.
If you do not have a license to carry you may only transport a firearm in your vehicle if it is:
Located in plain view if loaded.
Is a lawfully possessed shotgun or rifle
Is not loaded and concealed
Is not loaded and secured in a case.
Disassembled or permanently altered so that it is not readily operable.
If it is a handgun and you are 21 years of age and resident of Idaho or member of the United States Forces and not disqualified under Idaho law from obtaining a concealed weapons license.
You can not apply for a concealed weapons license if you:
- are under 21 years of age
- have been formally charged with a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding 1 year.
- have been adjudicated guilty in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding l year.
- are a fugitive from justice.
- an unlawful user of marijuana or any depressant, stimulant or narcotic drug or any controlled substance as defined in 21 U.S.C. section 802.
- an incapacitated person as defined in section 15-5-101 Idaho code
- Gravely disabled as defined in section 66-317 Idaho code
- mentally ill as defined in section 66-317 Idaho code.
- Lacking mental capacity as defined in section 18-210 Idaho code.
- have been discharged from the armed forces under dishonorable conditions.
- are an illegal alien.
- are subject to a protection order issued under chapter 63, title 39 Idaho code, that restrains the person from harassing, stalking or threatening an intimate partner of the person or child of the intimate partner or person or engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or child.
Where to Apply for Idaho Conceal Permit License
Go to your local sheriffs office to apply.
Idaho Conceal Carry Laws
Notify officer of Carry
It is not required to notify an officer of carrying a concealed firearm.
In Idaho Can you Conceal Carry in bar? Conceal Carry In Liquor establishments?Yes but make sure you check with the establishment management in case they have a policy against carrying a firearm inside their business.
Not allowed to carry in these areasIn Idaho state these places are off limits to carry: You may not carry a concealed weapon in a courthouse, juvenile detention facility, adult correctional facility, prison, jail, public school or private school. For purposes of this prohibition, a school is defined as “a private or public elementary or secondary school.”Federal law prohibit you from carrying a weapon in places such as federal courthouses and airports.Private businesses, including those that are open to the public, may prohibit the carrying of weapons on their premises
Link to Idaho State Gun Laws
- 18-3302 Idaho Code Conceal Carry Weapon https://www.idaho.gov/laws-public-safety/gun-weapon-law/ Permit application-fees
Carry in RestaurantYes, unless prohibited by the establishment management.
Carry in State ParksPlaces allowed to carry Idaho
- State parks
- State and National forests
- Road side rest areas
Premises that have Rules that state no firearms allowed:A hotelkeeper has the right to evict a person, whether or not the person is a guest of the hotel, who seeks to bring a firearm into the hotel.1 The hotelkeeper is not required to provide accommodations, to any such person.2State administrative regulations require any agency that enters into a Medicaide provider agreement with the state for the provision of mental health clinic services to prohibit firearms in the clinic facility.3 In addition, firearms are not allowed in:
- A children’s residential care facility;4
- Children’s therapeutic outdoor programs;5 and
- State veterans’ homes.6
- Sports arenas (other than those related to an elementary or secondary school or certain facilities owned by colleges and universities);
- Gambling facilities;
- Polling places; or
- Establishments that serve alcohol.
Idaho Conceal Carry Application Forms
- CONCEALED WEAPONS LICENSE APPLICATION FORM
- CONCEALED WEAPONS LICENSE TRAINING CERTIFICATE FORM
- RETIRED LAW ENFORCEMENT CONCEALED WEAPONS LICENSE FORM
- ALIEN REGISTRATION FORM
How to renew your ID concealed weapon permit
To renew your conceal license go to your local law enforcement agency. Requirements are the same except.
- You don’t need to get fingerprinted
- You should receive your license within 2 weeks