Florida Concealed Carry License Reciprocity Map
All about Florida, Permits, and Conceal Carrying a Weapon Below.
Florida CCW Reciprocity State Info
Florida Reciprocity, FL Honors these permits:Resident Licenses Only
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming
Florida Concealed Weapons Permits are honored in These States:Resident License
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming Non-Resident License
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming
No Permit Needed States
The following states have permitless carry which allows anyone that can legally possess a firearm carry conceal: Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia. Some restrictions may apply. Check each state for its own restrictions.
No Permit Carry Needed, With Restrictions
Idaho, North Dakota, and Wyoming Residents are allowed to Concealed Carry without a permit.
Florida Conceal Carry Permits not Honored in these states:
California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington, Washington D.C. Wisconsin
Florida Conceal Carry Permit Information
Florida CCW Application Fee
redsident $97, Non resident $97
Residents & Non ResidentsNon-Residents can apply in the same way as residents. Non-residents will need to submit paper fingerprint cards with the prints having been done by your local law enforcement agency. You will also need to ensure the address of the agency has been entered on the back of the fingerprint card, if the address is missing your application will be returned.Moving to Florida
If you are moving to Florida and hold a valid Concealed Carry permit/license in your current state you will need to establish residence in Florida by; Making a statement of domicile. Registering to vote.
Filing an application for homestead tax exemption on property located in Florida.Once you have established legal residence in Florida your out of state CCW permit will be good for 90 days.
Valid for How Long
Florida’s permit is good for 7 years
Shall Issue State
Florida is a shall issue state
Is Florida an Open Carry State?
Can I open carry in Florida?
NO – WITH OR WITHOUT A PERMIT
Open Carry is illegal in Florida even if you have a permit/license. Under section 790.25(3)(h)(j)(k) of the Florida statutes there are some limited situations were it is legal to open carry such as traveling to and being engaged in lawful target shooting, fishing, hunting, and camping.
How long does it take to get a concealed weapons permit in Florida?
The application for a concealed carry permit must be processed within 90 days
Florida Concealed Permit Requirements
- Must be at least 21 years old
- You have completed an approved firearms training class
- You are a U.S. citizen or legal resident alien
- You must reside in the U.S.
- You do not have two or more DUI convictions within the previous 3 years
- No convictions for a violent crime in the last three years, either misdemeanor or felony
- Federal law requirements
These are the minimum requirements to qualify for a Florida concealed carry permit. Full requirement details for a concealed carry permit can be found on the application page.
Can I carry a gun in my car in Florida?Lawful ownership, possession, and use of firearms and other weapons.—
(1) Declaration of Policy.—The Legislature finds as a matter of public policy and fact that it is necessary to promote firearms safety and to curb and prevent the use of firearms and other weapons in crime and by incompetent persons without prohibiting the lawful use in defense of life, home, and property, and the use by United States or state military organizations, and as otherwise now authorized by law, including the right to use and own firearms for target practice and marksmanship on target practice ranges or other lawful places, and lawful hunting and other lawful purposes.
(3) LAWFUL USES.—The provisions of ss. 790.053 and 790.06 do not apply in the following instances, and, despite such sections, it is lawful for the following persons to own, possess, and lawfully use firearms and other weapons, ammunition, and supplies for lawful purposes:
(h) A person engaged in fishing, camping, or lawful hunting or going to or returning from a fishing, camping, or lawful hunting expedition;
Where to Apply for Florida Conceal Carry Permit and steps to take
Applications can be submitted in the following ways; Online for renewals only
Mail Regional office Dept. of Agriculture & Consumer Services Florida Tax Collectors Office
Follow these steps to obtain a Concealed Carry Permit
- Complete your firearm training course if required.
- Decide which method you will submit your application with, either fast track or mail.
- Fast track applications can be made at;
Tax Collectors Offices
You will need to make an appointment.
- When you arrive for your appointment you will be directed to a computer station where you can complete an electronic version of the application form.
- Staff will then scan your fingerprints and take your photo.
- You may be required by some counties to take a psychological test to assess your moral character and judgement.
- You will be notified by mail if and when your application has been approved
Florida Conceal Carry Laws
Notify officer of Carry
Can you Conceal Carry in bar? Conceal Carry In Liquor establishments?You are not permitted under Florida law to carry in a bar area that serves alcohol. The law states that “any portion of an establishment that dispenses alcohol…. which is primarily devoted to such purpose”.So in Florida it means that you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol, as its function is to serve food and not alcohol. If the restaurant has a bar area you can’t enter while carrying a gun. Also you can’t enter a regular bar.
Not allowed to carry in these areasAny place of nuisance, any police, sheriff, or highway patrol station; any detention facility, prison, or jail; any courthouse; any courtroom, except that nothing in this section would preclude a judge from carrying a concealed weapon or determining who will carry a concealed weapon in his or her courtroom;, any polling place;, any meeting of the governing body of a county, public school district, municipality, or special district;, any meeting of the Legislature or a committee thereof; any school, college, or professional athletic event not related to firearms; Any elementary or secondary school facility or administration building; ,any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, which portion of the establishment is primarily devoted to such purpose;
- any elementary or secondary school facility;
- any area vocational-technical center;
- any college or university facility unless the licensee is a registered student, employee, or faculty member of such college or university and the weapon is a stun gun or non-lethal electric weapon or device designed solely for defensive purposes and the weapon does not fire a dart or projectile;
- inside the passenger terminal and sterile area of any airport, provided that no person shall be prohibited from carrying any legal firearm into the terminal, which firearm is encased for shipment for purposes of checking such firearm as baggage to be lawfully transported on any aircraft; or
- any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law
Carry in RestaurantYes but not in the bar area
Carry in State Parks
YESIt is legal to carry in the following areas;State Parks: YES
State/National Forests: YES
State Game Management Units: YES
Road Side Rest Areas: YESThe Law
State Park Rules
Premises that have Signs that state no firearms allowed:Signs do not have the force of law behind them but you still could be on trouble for trespassing
Florida Conceal Carry Application Forms
- Online Application
- Online Renewal
- Concealed Weapon License Application
- CCW Application Instructions
- Concealed Weapon License Renewal
- CCW Phamplet
- How to Apply or Renew
- List of Reciprocity States
Department of Agriculture and Consumer ServicesMiami-Dade Office
Monday – Friday8am – 5pm
Address7743 NW 48th St. Ste. 100
CityDoral, FL 33166-5407