Delaware Concealed Carry Permit Reciprocity Map

All about Delaware, Permits, and Conceal Carrying a Weapon Below.

Delaware CCW Reciprocity State Info

Delaware Reciprocity, Delaware Honors these permits:

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Missouri, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia

Idaho – Delaware only honors the Idaho Enhanced Permit
South Dakota – Delaware only honors the South Dakota Enhanced Permit
North Dakota – Delaware only honors the North Dakota Class 1 Permit.

Delaware Concealed Weapons Permits are honored in These States:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia

No Permit Needed States

The following states have permitless carry which allows anyone that can legally possess a firearm carry conceal:  Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia.  Some restrictions may apply.  Check each state for its own restrictions.

No Permit Carry Needed, With Restrictions

Idaho, North Dakota, and Wyoming Residents are allowed to Concealed Carry without a permit.

Delaware Conceal Carry Permits not Honored in these states:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia

Delaware Conceal Carry Permit Information

Delaware Application Fee

New Permits: $65
Renewal: $65

 

Residents & Non Residents

Residents only.

shop now

Valid for How Long

The permit is valid for 3 years when first issued.
Renewals are valid for 5 years.

Shall Issue State

Delaware is a “may issue” state.

Is Delaware an Open Carry State?

YES – Without a Permit/License
Open carrying a handgun without a permit/license in Delaware is legal. The minimum age is 18 years old. Open carrying is not often done.

How long does it take to get a concealed weapons permit in Delaware

There seems to be no set time to receive a CCW in Delaware

Delaware Concealed Permit Requirements

  • Must be at least 18 years old.
  • Complete a firearms training course.
  • Have five references from the county you reside in. The references shall clearly state that the applicant is a person of full age, sobriety and good moral character, that the applicant bears a good reputation for peace and good order in the community in which the applicant resides, and that the carrying of a concealed deadly weapon by the applicant is necessary for the protection of the applicant or the applicant’s property, or both.
  • Have never been convicted in Delaware or elsewhere of a felony or a crime of violence.
  • If under 25 years old have never been, as a juvenile, adjudicated as delinquent for conduct which, if committed by an adult, would constitute a felony.
  • Have never been convicted for the unlawful use, possession, or sale of a narcotic, dangerous drug, or central nervous system depressant or stimulant.
  • You are not subject to a Protection From Abuse Order issued by a court.
  • Have never been committed for a mental disorder to any hospital, mental institution, or sanitarium.
  • Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons 

Can I carry a gun in my car in Delaware?

YES/NO – Without a Permit/License
It is a felony to carry a concealed firearm in a vehicle without a permit. You can still legally carry a firearm in a vehicle if it is in plain site such as on the dash or seat, it is not legal to put it  in a glove box or anywhere it can not be seen. If you have a permit then you may carry a concealed firearm in a vehicle.

Where to Apply for Delaware Conceal Permit License and steps to take.

Concealed carry permits/licenses are issued by the Prothonotary Office in the county where you reside.

Follow these steps to obtain a permit

  1. Download the application from under the FORMS tab.
  2. Arrange with a newspaper of general circulation in your County to have your application published once, at least (10) days before the filing of your application with the Court. Obtain an affidavit from the newspaper company stating that this requirement has been met, and attach it to your application. PLEASE NOTE: Newspaper selection must have a circulation of at least 35% of the population in your zip code. Be sure to use your whole name – no initials – and your home address.
  3. Arrange to be fingerprinted. Fingerprints must be taken within 45 days of filing application. Fingerprinting by Appointment Only. Appointments are ONLY Tuesday & Thursday noon to 6:30p.m. For an appointment call: (302)739-2528 You will be given the address of the Delaware State Police Troop to report to at the time you are given an appointment. You may want to verify payment methods at the time you schedule your interview.
  4. Have the reference questionnaires completed by five (5) citizens from the County in which you reside.
  5. Complete the application and have it notarized.
  6. Include two (2) 1 1/2 x 1 1/2 color passport-style photographs of the applicant, taken within the six month period immediately preceding the filing of the application.
  7. Include the statutory filing fee of $65.00. Cash, money order or personal check, made payable to PROTHONOTARY will be accepted.
  8. New applications may be filed at any time. You must file the original set and a complete copy of all the documents. (DUPLICATE COPY) You may hand deliver your application to the Prothonotary Office, or, if all the requirements are met, mail to the Prothonotary Office in the County in which you reside:
  9. Following review of your application by the Attorney Generals Office and the Court, you will receive written notification as to whether your application has been denied or approved.
  10. If your application is approved, you must now complete an Approved Gun Course.
  11. Upon completion of the course please submit a notarized certification of satisfactory completion of the firearm training course.
  12. If you can not complete the course within 90 days of the approval of your gun permit, please submit proof that you have enrolled in the course.

If a certification or proof of enrollment is not filed with the Court within 90 days of the approval of your gun permit, they will assume you no longer want to obtain a gun permit. In order to obtain a gun permit, you will have to start the process over.

Delaware Conceal Carry Laws

  • Notify officer of Carry

    NO – Must Inform Officer on Contact By Law
    There is nothing in Delaware gun laws that state you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. 

  • In Delaware Can you Conceal Carry in bar? Conceal Carry In Liquor establishments?

    YES – In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol  You can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the business to see if this means just the bar area

  • Not allowed to carry in these areas

    • Police stations
    • School Bus
    • State approved “SLOTS”
    • Courthouses
    • Police stations
    • Prisons and other detention facilities
    • Wildlife Management Areas
    • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 

  • Constitutional carry

    No

  • Carry in Restaurant

    Yes

  • Carry in State Parks

    • Road side rest areas
    • Vehicle
    • All areas of the state – except those listed 

  • Premises that have Signs that state no firearms allowed:

    NO
    “No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Delaware gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits.

    GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons” sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.

Delaware Conceal Carry Application Forms

Delaware

Delaware Contacts


Justice Center

Hours


Monday – Friday8:30am – 5pm

SaturdayClosed

SundayClosed

Contact


Address500 North King Street

CityWilmington, DE 19801

Phone(302) 255-0800

Email[email protected]

Application

5 Great Survival Firearms

By Holster HQ | November 6, 2019

Whether you are lost in the woods, broken down in the desert, or have found yourself in a disaster situation, staying safe or finding food may prove difficult without a proper firearm. You never know what could go wrong, and different survival situations call for different styles of weapons. Here is a list of five…

How to Mount a Scope

By Holster HQ | September 24, 2019

              How to Mount a Scope – a Guide from the Expert If you are a hunter, knowing how to mount a scope is paramount. It can also save you some money because you will not have to take your rifle to a gunsmith to do the job for…

Types of Holsters

By Holster HQ | March 5, 2019

Types of Holsters     Holsters are a great way of safely and comfortably carrying a weapon. But there are a lot of different types out there, with dozens of brands. How can you find the right holster for you? Here, we’ll guide you through all of the major types of holsters and help you…

10 Best Ruger SR9C IWB Holsters | Concealed SR9C Holster

By Holster HQ | August 27, 2018

We tried out several different Ruger SR9C IWB holsters and came up with this list of the 10 best Ruger SR9C holsters for sale. We prefer inside the waistband (IWB) holsters because they hold your gun securely, are easily concealable and highly comfortable. The Ruger SR9c is a great concealed carry weapon and it’s an amazing concealed…