Connecticut Concealed Carry Permit Reciprocity Map
All about Connecticut, Permits, and Conceal Carrying a Weapon Below.
Connecticut CCW Reciprocity State Info
Connecticut Reciprocity, CT Honors these permits:
Connecticut does not honor permits from any other states.
Connecticut Concealed Weapons Permits are honored in These States:RESIDENT
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin NON-RESIDENT
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin
No Permit Needed States
The following states have permitless carry which allows anyone that can legally possess a firearm carry conceal: Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia. Some restrictions may apply. Check each state for its own restrictions.
No Permit Carry Needed, With Restrictions
Idaho, North Dakota, and Wyoming Residents are allowed to Concealed Carry without a permit.
Connecticut Conceal Carry Permits not Honored in these states:
NOT Honored by These States: California, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, New York City, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Washington, Wyoming.
Connecticut Conceal Carry Permit Information
Connecticut CCW Application FeeNew Permits:
Plus Fingerprint and Background Check Fees
You will have to pay for a temporary permit and then a permanent permit totaling a cost of $140
Residents & Non Residents
Connecticut will issue to resident and non-resident
Valid for How Long
The permit is valid for 5 years.
Shall Issue State
Connecticut gun laws show a “May Issue” state. However, the state operates more like a “Shall Issue” state due to various court decisions. There is a two step process to get a permit. First an you must apply for a temporary permit locally and then apply at the state level. This means you pay for two permits, $140 total. Connecticut gun laws on will only accept the NRA’s basic pistol course.
Is Connecticut an Open Carry State?
Can I open carry in Connecticut?YES/NO – Without a Permit/License
You cannot open carry without a permit. if you have a permit then open carry is legal but not many people open carry. Counties and Cities can set their own laws/regulations on where you can open carry.
How long does it take to get a concealed weapons permit in Connecticut?60 Days
It is a requirement for a concealed carry permit to be processed within 60 days of the application being received.
Connecticut Concealed Permit Requirements
- Must be at least twenty one years of age.
- A legal resident of the United States.
- Has a residence or business in the jurisdiction in which they are applying.
- Intends to use the handgun for only lawful purposes.
- Is a “suitable person” to receive a permit.
- Has successfully completed a handgun safety course.
- Has not been convicted of a felony or a violation of;Criminal possession of a narcotic substance; Criminally negligent homicide; Assault in the third degree; Reckless endangerment in the first degree; Unlawful restraint in the second degree; Riot in the first degree; Stalking in the second degree
- Has not been convicted as a delinquent for the commission of a serious juvenile offense.
- Has not been discharged from custody within the preceding twenty years after having been found not guilty of a crime by reason of mental disease or defect.
- Is not subject to a restraining or protective order issued by a court in a case involving the use, attempted use or threatened use of physical force against another person.
- Is not subject to a firearms seizure order issued for posing a risk of personal injury to self or others after a hearing.
- Is not prohibited from possessing a firearm for having been adjudicated as a mentally incompetent under federal law.
- Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons
Can I carry a gun in my car in Connecticut?NO – Without a Permit
You are legally required to have a permit to carry a loaded firearm in a vehicle.
Where to Apply for a Connecticut Conceal Carry Permit and steps to apply
Concealed carry permits/licenses are issued by the Connecticut State Police.
Follow these steps to procure a permit
- Complete a handgun safety course. Only the NRA’s basic pistol course is accepted.
- Download the application (DPS-799-C) under the FORMS tab.
- You will need the following documents;
- Two fingerprint cards
- Two copies of your birth certificate or passport
- Firearms training certificate if you are a resident of Connecticut
- Residents apply to the Police Department or First Selectman of the town
- Non-residents apply directly to the Connecticut State Police, Special Licensing and Firearms Unit.
- Submit fingerprints for a criminal history check through a law enforcement agency
- Upon approval, the local authority will issue a Temporary State Permit effective for 60 days.
- You will need a second application (DPS -46-C) which differs from the first and is not available online. Call (860) 685-8290 to have an application sent to you.
- Within the 60 day period, go to a DESPP, Division of State Police, pistol permit location and submit the following;
- The Temporary State Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers issued by the local authority;
- A completed Application for State Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers (DPS-46-C);
- $70.00 fee, payable to Treasurer, State of Connecticut;
- Proof you are legally and lawfully in the United States (e.g., certified copy of birth certificate, U.S. passport.
- Proof of valid state issued photo identification c
Connecticut Conceal Carry Laws
Notify officer of Carry
NO – Must Inform Officer on Contact By Law
There is nothing in Rhode Island gun laws that state you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm if stopped. The law does require you to carry your permit at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun.
In Connecticut, Can you Conceal Carry in bar? Conceal Carry In Liquor establishments?Yes
Not allowed to carry in these areas
- You cannot carry a firearm if you are under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
- Public or private elementary or secondary school property
- A permit to carry is required to carry a handgun outside one’s home (even though one may still be on his own property);
- In any place of business in which one is merely an employee, not an owner or operator;
- A permit is also required to transport a handgun back and forth between one’s home and place of business, or to and from a range for target shooting.
- Any building in which the chamber of either house of the General Assembly is located or in which the official office of any member, officer or employee of the General Assembly or the office of any committee of the General Assembly or either house thereof is located or any building in which a committee of the General Assembly is holding a public hearing.
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Carry in RestaurantYes
Carry in State Parks
Section 1. (NEW) (Effective October 1, 2018) The Department of Energy and Environmental Protection shall permit any person who holds a valid permit to carry a pistol or revolver issued pursuant to subsection (b) of section 29-28 of the general statutes to carry a pistol or revolver covered by such permit in any state park.
Premises that have Rules that state no firearms allowed:YES
Connecticut gun laws give the force of law to “No Weapons” signs. There are legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs.
Connecticut Conceal Carry Application Forms
Division of State Police
Special Licensing and Firearms Unit
Monday – Friday8:30am – 4:15pm
Address1111 Country Club Rd.
CityMiddletown, Ct. 06457