Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit Reciprocity Map

All about Colorado, Permits, and Concealed Carrying a Weapon Below.

Colorado CHP Reciprocity State Info

Colorado Reciprocity,  Honors these permits:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Colorado Concealed Handgun Permits are honored in These States:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

No Permit Needed States

The following states have permitless carry which allows anyone that can legally possess a firearm carry conceal:  Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia.  Some restrictions may apply.  Check each state for its own restrictions.

No Permit Carry Needed, With Restrictions

Idaho, North Dakota, and Wyoming Residents are allowed to Concealed Carry without a permit.

Colorado Conceal Handgun Permit Information

Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit Application Fee

Application Type Original Renewal
Individual $52.50 $13
Emergency permit $30.50

NOTE
$52.50 is for the state fee.   The Sheriff can charge up to $100 dollars in an additional fee.

Accepted Forms of Payment
Cashier’s check or money order – payable to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI)

Residents & Non Residents

Permits are not usually issued to non-residents but they may obtain a permit if they can demonstrate good cause such as owning a property in Colorado, frequent travel etc. All resident permits are issued by the local county sheriff while the Department of Public Safety handles applications for non-residents. Applicants are required to demonstrate that they are competent with handling a firearm.

shop now

Valid for How Long

A Colorado Concealed Handgun carry permit is valid for 5 years

Shall Issue State

 

Colorado gun laws operate on a “Shall Issue” policy at the county level. Permits are not usually issued to non-residents however they may get a permit if they can demonstrate good cause such as owning a property in Colorado, frequent travel etc.

Is Colorado an Open Carry State?

Yes with the following caveat

A local government may enact an ordinance, regulation, or other law that prohibits the open carrying of a firearm in a building or specific area within the local government’s jurisdiction. If a local government imposes an ordinance, regulation, or other law that prohibits the open carrying of a firearm in a building or specific area, the local government shall post signs at the public entrances to the building or specific area informing people that the open carrying of firearms is prohibited in the building or specific area

How long does it take to get a concealed weapons permit in Colorado

The time it takes to get a Concealed handgun permit in Colorado is 90 days

Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit Requirements

  • Must be at least 21 years of age.
  • Demonstrates competence with a handgun.
  • Is a legal resident of Colorado.
  • Has not been convicted of perjury.
  • Does not chronically and habitually use alcoholic beverages.
  • Is not an unlawful user of or addicted to a controlled substance.
  • Is not subject to a protection order.
  • Federal Law Requirements

Can I carry a gun in my car in Colorado

Yes without a permit

(3) (a) a person who may lawfully own a handgun may carry a handgun under the following conditions without getting a permit and the handgun shall not be considered concealed:

(I) the handgun is in the possession of a person who is in a private vehicle or in some other private means of transport and who carries the handgun for a legal use, including self-defense.

You can not apply for a Concealed Handgun License if you:

  • If you are not 21
  • If you cannot demonstrate competence with a handgun
  • If you are a felon
  • If you have been convicted of perjury
  • Are an unlawful drug or Alcohol user
  • If you are subject to a protection order
  • Do not meet federal requirements

Where to Apply for a Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit

All resident permits are issued by the local county sheriff while the Department of Public Safety handles applications for non-residents.

Colorado Concealed Carry Laws

  • Notify officer of Carry

    NO - MUST INFORM OFFICER

    Colorado concealed carry laws have no legal requirement for a person to inform law enforcement they are carrying a firearm. The law does state that you must carry your permit, together with valid photo identification, at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun and shall produce both documents upon demand by a law enforcement officer.

    The Law
    18.12.204

  • In Colorado, Can you Conceal Carry in bar? Conceal Carry In Liquor establishments?

    YES

    In Bars

    In Colorado carrying a firearm into an area{ bar or Restaurant }that serves alcohol is legal provided the building is not posted with a "No Weapons" sign. however it is recommended not to carry in these areas. even though it is legal

  • Not allowed to carry in these areas

    In Colorado these places are off limits to carry: 

    • Public elementary, middle, junior high, or high school
    • Secure areas of airports
    • Public buildings with fixed security checkpoints such as courthouses
    • Snowmobile (permit for predator control required)
    • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 
  • Constitutional carry

    No

  • Carry in Restaurant

    YES

    In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol 

    In Colorado carrying a firearm into an area that serves alcohol is legal provided the building is not posted with a "No Weapons" sign.

     

     
  • Carry in State Parks

    • YES

      It is legal to carry in the following areas;

      • State Parks:       YES - CRS 18.12.214
      • State/National Forests:     YES - CRS 18.12.214
      • State Wildlife Management Areas:     YES - CRS 18.12.214
      • Road Side Rest Areas:     YES
  • Premises that have Rules that state no firearms allowed:

     
    NO“No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Colorado concealed carry laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits.

Colorado Concealed Carry Application Forms

 

 

survival knife in log

What to Look for in a Survival Knife

By Holster HQ | September 10, 2020

If you are in a survival situation, one of the most valuable tools to have on you would be a survival knife. These handy tools can literally mean the difference between life and death. You should make a habit of having access your survival knife at all times. You never know when you may need…

How to Mount a Scope

By Holster HQ | August 24, 2020

              How to Mount a Scope – a Guide from the Expert If you are a hunter, knowing how to mount a scope is paramount. It can also save you some money because you will not have to take your rifle to a gunsmith to do the job for…

j frame pistol

Best Holster for J Frame – Reviews in 2020

By Mark Wallace | June 10, 2020

  You probably searched for something like What is the Best Holster for J Frame Review in 2020   If that is how you ended up here then you are in the right place. But all things considered, there is no one holster fits all. Below we have listed some really good choices in different…

woman shooting

THESE ARE THE BEST-CONCEALED CARRY HANDGUNS FOR WOMEN, RECOMMENDED BY WOMEN

By Mark Wallace | June 5, 2020

Source There are several important characteristics to look for when choosing a self-defense handgun.  The firearm must be chambered in a cartridge powerful enough to reliably stop an assailant.  The firearm must fit comfortably in the hands of an average woman.  While smaller firearms are easier to carry and conceal, they are generally not as…