Arizona Concealed Weapons Permit Reciprocity Map
All about Arizona, Permits, and Conceal Carrying a Weapon Below.
All about Arizona CCW Reciprocity State Info
Arizona Reciprocity, Honors these permits:
Alabama, Alsaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Misouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South carolina South Dakota Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virgini, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Arizona Concealed Weapons Permits are honored in These States:
Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming.
No Permit Needed States
The following states have permitless carry which allows anyone that can legally possess a firearm carry conceal: Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia. Some restrictions may apply. Check each state for its own restrictions.
No Permit Carry Needed, With Restrictions
Idaho, North Dakota, and Wyoming Residents are allowed to Concealed Carry without a permit.
Arizona Conceal Carry Permits not Honored in these states:
NOT Honored by These States: California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington
Arizona Conceal Carry Permit Information
Arizona Application Fee
-Arizona Conceal Carry Weapon New permit is $60
-Arizona Conceal Carry Weapon renewal fee is $43
Residents & Non Residents
Arizona will issue conceal carry permits called CCW permits to both residents and non-residents.
Valid for How Long
Arizona concealed carry permit is good for 5 years
Is Arizona a Shall Issue State
Arizona is a shall issue state. If the applicant meets the requirements then they will receive an Arizona concealed carry permit, called CCW
Is Arizona an Open Carry State?
Can I open carry in Arizona? .
If you are 21 or older and legally allowed to own a firearm you can carry a fully loaded and concealed handgun in a vehicle.
If you are under the age of 21 the handgun must be in plain view to a person outside looking into the vehicle.
How long does it take to get a concealed weapons permit in Arizona ?
It takes about 75 days to complete all the required checks
90 days before a permits expiration date a renewal packet will be sent to the address on record.
Permits can be renewed within 90 days before or 60 days after the expiration date.
If the permit has expired for more than 60 days a new application process will need to be started.
Arizona Concealed Permit Requirements
-To apply for a permit in Arizona you must be at least 21 years old
-You must apply in person at your local law enforcement agency
-Where to apply below
-You must get fingerprinted
- Determine if you meet the qualifications to obtain a concealed weapons permit.
- You must read Arizona Statute Title 13, chapters 4 and 13.
- Complete a firearms safety training course.
- Contact the Concealed Weapons Permit Unit, via email to request an application packet ,which contains an application, two fingerprint cards and a return envelope.
- Return the application with two sets of fingerprints, proof of training and the fee.
- You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.
-You must have a background check
-Must be a United States citizen or a permanent resident alien with permanent resident card or “green card.”
Can I carry a gun in my car in Arizona?
If you are 21 or older and legally eligible to own a firearm you can carry a fully loaded and concealed handgun in a vehicle.
You can not apply for concealed weapons permit if
- You are not 21 years old or more
- You are not a resident of Arizona or a US citizen
- You are unlawfully present in the United States
- You have not completed an approved firearms training class
- You have pending charges
- You have been convicted of a felony
- You have been diagnosed as mentally ill
- You Do not meet Federal Law Requirements
Where to Apply for Arizona Concealed Carry Permit (CCW)
HOW DO I APPLY FOR A ARIZONA CCW PERMIT?
You may contact the permit unit via email to obtain an application packet. The packet will include a permit application, two fingerprint cards, a pre-addressed return envelope and instructions. Send the completed application, proof of firearms competence, two classifiable fingerprint cards, and the applicable fee to Arizona Department permit service. https://www.azdps.gov/services/public/cwp
Arizona Conceal Carry Laws
Notify officer of Carry
Nothing in Arizona gun states that you must inform law enforcement you have a fire arm if stopped by them. The law does say that if an officer asks you if you have a firearm then you must give him an answer.
In Arizona, Can you Conceal Carry in bar? Conceal Carry In Liquor establishments?
YESOnly if you have a CCW permit from Arizona or a permit from state recognized by Arizona.Without a permit, it is illegal to conceal or open carry in any place that serves alcohol.The Law
ARS 4.-299 https://www.azleg.gov/ars/4/00229.htm
Not allowed to carry in these areas
- Liquor retailer who has posted a sign prohibiting weapons
- The grounds of any school
- Polling places on election day
- Correctional facilities
- Nuclear or hydroelectric generating stations.
- Any establishment or event open to the public where the operator makes a reasonable request for you to give them custody or remove the weapon from the premises. A sign would qualify for such request. By law, cities and counties are required to offer on-site storage if they ban weapons but not all are in compliance
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Arizona is a permit-less carry or Constitutional Carry state. No permit is required to carry a concealed firearm if a person is 21 years of age or over. To open carry a person must be at least 18 years old. Arizona still maintains a “Shall Issue” policy for reciprocity purposes.
Carry in Restaurant
YESOnly if you have a CCW permit, the permit can be from Arizona or any other state recognized by Arizona.Without a permit, it is illegal to conceal or open carry in any place that serves alcohol.
Carry in State Parks
YESIt is legal to carry in the following areas;State Parks: YES
State/National Forests: YES
State Wildlife Management Areas: YES
Road Side Rest Areas: YES
Premises that have Rules that state no firearms allowed:
Arizona Conceal Carry Application Forms