Alabama Concealed Carry License Reciprocity Map
All about Alabama, Permits, and Conceal Carrying a Weapon Below.
Alabama CCW Reciprocity State Info
Alabama Reciprocity, Alabama Honors these permits:
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Alabama Concealed Weapons Permits are honored in These States:RESIDENT
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming NON-RESIDENT
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
No Permit Needed States
The following states have permitless carry which allows anyone that can legally possess a firearm carry conceal: Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia. Some restrictions may apply. Check each state for its own restrictions.
No Permit Carry Needed, With Restrictions
Idaho, North Dakota, and Wyoming Residents are allowed to Concealed Carry without a permit.
Alabama Conceal Carry Permits not Honored in these states:
California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Massachusetts, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington
Alabama Conceal Carry Permit Information
Alabama CCW Application Fee
Alabama permit is good for, 1,2,3,4,or 5 years Fees are set by the local Sheriff and are about $20 per year.
1 year $20, 2 years $40, 3 years $60, 4 years $80, 5 years, $100
Residents & Non Residents
Permits only issued to residents
Valid for How Long
Alabama’s concealed carry permit is valid for 1 to 5 years
Shall Issue State
Alabama is a shall issue state to residents only
Is Alabama an Open Carry State?
Can I open carry in Alabama ?
YES – WITHOUT A PERMIT
Open carry is legal in Alabama if a person is 19 years old or older and legally able to have a firearm. You are required to have a permit to carry a loaded gun in a vehicle
How long does it take to get a concealed weapons permit in Alabama
The Sheriffs office is required by law to process an application for a concealed carry permit within 30 days.
Alabama Concealed Permit Requirements
- Must be at least 19 years of age.
- Live in the county where you file the application
- Have no convictions of violence
- Must be a US citizen or legal alien.
- Must not be a drug addict or habitual drunk.
- Must be of sound mind and not have been involuntarily admitted to psychiatric or drug treatment facility.
- Federal Law Requirements
Can I carry a gun in my car in Alabama
A person legally permitted to own a gun, but who does not have a valid concealed weapon permit, may have an unloaded pistol in their vehicle if the pistol is locked in a container that is in or attached securely to the vehicle and out of reach of the driver and any passenger in the vehicle.
Where to Apply for Alabama Conceal Carry Permit/License and how to get one.
The Alabama conceal carry permit is issued by the county sheriff in the county that you live in.
- Get the application form from your local county Sheriff.
- Complete the form.
- Submit your application to the Sheriffs Office in the county you live in.
- You will be contacted by mail if your application has been approved.
Alabama Conceal Carry Laws
Notify officer of Carry
There is nothing in Alabama gun laws that state you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm
Can you Conceal Carry in bar? Conceal Carry In Liquor establishments?Alabama allows you to carry a concealed firearm on your person inside a restaurant that serves alcohol, you are not legally allowed to drink alcohol while carrying.
Not allowed to carry in these areas
- Premises of a public school composed of K12 grades
- School bus used for K12 grades
- Demonstrations at public places
- University of Alabama
- Building of a police, sheriff, or highway patrol station
- Inside any facility hosting a professional athletic event not related to firearms which is sponsored by a private or public elementary or secondary school or any private or public institution of education.
- Inside a facility which provides inpatient or custodial care of those with psychiatric, mental, or emotional disorders.
- Inside a courthouse or courthouse annex
- Prison, jail, halfway house, community corrections facility, or other detention facility for those who have been charged with or convicted of a criminal or juvenile offense.
- Building in which a District Attorney’s office is located
- Building in which a county commission or city council is currently having a meeting
- Any place where federal law prohibits guns
Carry in RestaurantYes
Carry in State Parks
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- All areas of the state not listed as Off-Limits
Premises that have signs that state no firearms allowed:No gun signs are not mentioned in Alabama gun laws.
Alabama Conceal Carry Application Forms
Jefferson County Sheriff
Monday – Friday8am – 4:30pm
Address2200 Rev. Abraham Woods Jr Blvd.
CityBirmingham, AL 35203